ICC Events

Mitchell Johnson wins the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2009

JOHANNESBURG, Sout Africa -- Australia’s Mitchell Johnson has become the sixth player to win the coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named as the 2009 ICC Cricketer of the Year at the LG ICC Awards ceremony in Johannesburg.

Johnson fought off stiff competition to take the award from fellow short-list nominees Gautam Gambhir and Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India as well as England captain Andrew Strauss.

Scoreboard: West Indies versus India

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa -- Scoreboard in the ICC Champions Trophy Group A match between West Indies and India atthe Wanderers in Johannesburg, South Africa on Wednesday:

West Indies looking for win over Indians

JOHANNESBURG, Sout Africa -- West Indian captain Floyd Reifer says his team will be looking for a victory when they face India in their final Group A match in the ICC Champions Trophy at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Wednesday night. First ball is 2.30 pm (8.30 am Eastern Caribbean Time/7.30 am Jamaica Time).

The West Indies lost their opening two matches and are unable to make the semi-finals, but the captain said his players will be maintaining the same intensity and determination they showed against Pakistan and Australia.

Points Standing: ICC Champions Trophy

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa -- Standings in Group A of the ICC Champions Trophy following Monday night’s match:
                    M   W   L   D  NR   P   NRR
Pakistan        2   2   0   0   0   4   +1.606

New Zealand Change

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa -- The ICC has confirmed the event technical committee of the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 has approved a change in the New Zealand squad for the tournament.

Aaron Redmond will replace Jesse Ryder for the Black Caps. Ryder was forced out of the squad due to an injury to his left groin sustained during his side's 38-run victory over Sri Lanka at the Wanderers on Sunday.


Subscribe to ICC Events