ICC Events

Sri Lanka bat first in grand final

Mumbai, India – Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat in the ICC World Cup 2011 final against India on Saturday.

Injured left-arm pace bowler Ashish Nehra was replaced by Shanthakumaran Sreesanth in the India team for what is one of the biggest matches in history at Wankhede Stadium.

Sri Lanka made four changes, selecting Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chamara Kapugedera in place of Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath and Chamara Silva.

India beat Pakistan to reach final

Mohali, India – India's cricketers kept alive the dreams of billion fans after beating Pakistan by 29 runs in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final on Wednesday to set up a grand final against Sri Lanka.

The home side made 260-9 and then returned to bowl out their neighbours for 231 in 49.5 overs to spark jubilant celebrations among the more than 28,000 fans at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium.

Sachin's 85 takes India to 260-9

Mohali, India – Sachin Tendulkar had luck on his side as he made 85 which powered India to 260-9 off their 50 overs against Pakistan in Wednesday’s ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final at a jam-packed Punjad Cricket Association Stadium.

Tendulkar was dropped by Misbah-ul-Haq, Younus Khan and Umar Akmal, while keeper Kamran Akmal also missed a half-chance. He was eventually caught at extra-cover by skipper Shahid Afridi off off-spinner Saeed Ajmal after facing 115 balls and striking 11 boundaries.

India bat first against Pakistan

Mohali, India – India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final on Wednesday.

Pakistan named an unchanged team from the line-up which beat West Indies in the quarter-finals in Dhaka, while India brought in fast bowler Ashish Nehra for off-spinner Ravichandran Aswhin, from the team which beat Australia in the quarter-finals in Ahmedabad.

SL dismiss NZ for 217 in semi

Colombo, Sri Lanka – New Zealand were all out for 217 off 48.5 overs against Sri Lanka in the first ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final at the R Premadasa Stadium on Tuesday.

The topscore came from veteran allrounder Scott Styris, who made 57 from 77 balls, while opener Martin Gupril made 39 from 65 balls.

The best bowlers for Sri Lanka were speedster Lasith Malinga, who took 3-55 from nine overs, and slow bowler Ajantha Mendis who ended the innings with 3-35 from 9.5 overs.


Subscribe to ICC Events