Hosein is QPCC’s Cricketer of the Year

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - All-rounder Akeal Hosein was named the Queen’s Park Cricket Club Cricketer of the Year at the club’s End of Season Presentation and Awards Dinner at the Oval’s Century Ballroom in Port of Spain on Friday night.

The Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados Tridents left-arm spinner, Hosein, walked away with the top award after a consistent season for the Parkites when he took five five-wicket hauls for a total 68 wickets in all competitions.

The left-handed batsman also scored 453 runs with a high-score of 137 not out as the Parkites finished second in the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board Premier League two-day competition and the Sunday League 50 over competition before winning the Premier Division Twenty20 competition.

He also grabbed two hat-tricks in the same Premier League game this season, one in the first innings and one in the second against Caldrac at Gilbert Park in California.

The 21-year-old also scored his maiden first-class century and claimed two five wicket-hauls for T&T in the Regional Four-Day competition this year before being sidelined with injury.

Also nominated for the top award was 18-year-old left-hand opening batsman Jeremy Solozano who scored 467 runs in the Premier League and also captained the T&T Under-19 squad for the Regional Under-19 championships this year; off-spinner Amit Jaggernauth who took 56 wickets at an average of 10.5; left-arm spinner Kenneth Hazel who grabbed 68 wickets and played a key role the club’s Championship Division campaign; and all-rounder Daron Cruickshank who scored 665 runs and took 37 wickets at average of 13.68 in all competitions.

Although he did not walk away with the top prize, Solozano did go home with the Peter Waithe Youth Cricketer of the Year trophy while Jordan Warner won the Phil Thompson Youth Personality of the Year award.

Kirstan Kallicharan, who captained the T&T Under-15 team, was named the Runako Morton Most Promising Cricketer of the Year. Among his scores this season was a knock of 404 not out for his school Vishnu Boys Hindu College in the PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League Under-14 match.

QPCC honour roll

Cricketer of the Year

Akeal Hosein

Five Cricketers of the Year

Jeremy Solozano

Amit Jaggernauth

Kenneth Hazel

Akeal Hosein

Daron Cruickshank

Peter Waithe Youth Cricketer of the Year

Jeremy Solozano

Phil Thompson Youth Personality of the Year

Jordan Warner

Runako Morton Most Promising Youth Cricketer of the Year

Kirstan Kallicharan

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Sun, 08/24/2014 - 03:36