Hinds leads Gunners to Don Miguel title

Trinidad Guardian article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Terrance Hinds led from the front to lead Autorama Gunners to the division one open title when the Ministry of Sport/Lucozade Sport Don Miguel Night Windball Cricket Competition came to a close on August 9 at the St Georges College Recreation Ground, Barataria.

Hinds struck 21 and took one wicket for seven runs in three overs to guide his team to a 37-run win over Cricket Addicts in the division one open final. Autorama posted 73/7 in 12 overs batting first. Amit Jaggernauth, who is not the national spin bowler, pitched in with 26. Jasbour Findley was the top bowler for Cricket Addicts, ending with impressive figures of 3-0-5-4.

In reply, Aakash Harrynanan (3/14) and Sheldon Balroop (2/7) reduced Addicts to 36/6. Shane Sookdeo was the best batsman for Addicts hitting an unbeaten 19. Also claiming titles on the day were Montrose (division one best of the rest) and X-Men (over 45 division). Other sponsors included Sport Company of T&T, YARA Ltd, Quality Security and Body Guard Services and the T&T Windball Cricket Association.


Division One Best of the Rest: Montrose 104/5 (10 overs) (Nigel Ali 23, Brandon Francis 15, Sunil Ali 22, Kiran Bruce 3-0-17-2        Ronald Ragoonanan 2-0-16-2) vs AS II 99/5 (10 overs) (Isaac Kennedy 40, Kurt Smart 18 not out) Montrose won by 5 runs

Over 45 Division: X-Men 81/5 (10 overs) (Clint Williams 46) vs Drifters 75/6 (10 overs) (Gregory Webb 21, Sherwin Raymond 19, Alex Fredricks 2-0-5-3) X-Men won by 6 runs

Division One Open: Autorama Gunners 73/7 (12 overs) (Terrance Hinds 21, Amit Jaggernauth 26, Jasbour Findley 3-0-5-4) vs Cricket Addicts 36/6 (12 overs) (Shane Sookdeo 19 not out, Aakash Harrynanan 3-0-14-3, Sheldon Balroop 3-0-7-2) Autorama Gunners won by 37 runs


Division One Best of the Rest

1st Place $2,000.00 

– Montrose 

2nd Place $1,000.00 – AS II

League Prizes (Over 45)

1st Prize: X-MEN

2nd Prize: DRIFTERS

3rd Prize: MONTECO


Most Runs in the first Round Gary Wells - 89 (Big Men) 

Most Runs in a Match - Clint Williams 76 (X Men) vs Golden Spurs

Most Wickets in a Match - Tasha Francis 3-0-22-4 (Old Stagers) vs Drifters

Most Wickets in the first Round - Donald Nelson 5-0-20-5 (Drifters)   

MVP, Finals - Clint Williams (X-MEN) 46 Runs

Group Winners, A-X Men/B-Drifters

First Fifty Runs in a Match: Clint Willaims 76 (X Men) vs Golden Spurs

MVP, First Round: Keith Mahase 50 Runs//5-0-25-5 (Big Men)

Highest Team Score: X Men 139 for 1 vs Golden Spurs

Bowling Team for Lowest Score: Drifters vs Culture 54 for 8

League Prizes (Division One)

1st Prize – Autorama Gunners 

2nd Prize – Cricket Addicts 

3rd Prize – 90.5 Bamboo All Stars 

4th Prize – Silver Spurs   

Best Disciplined Team - AS II   

Most Runs in the first Round - Hanuman Moonsammy 179 Runs (Aranguez S.C.) 

Most Runs in a Match - Hanuman Moonsammy 96 Runs against Drunken Masters  

Most Wickets in a Match - Jesse Bootan (Home Boys) 3-0-20-6 against Pond Boys

Most Wickets in the first Round - Zaheer Mohammed 16 Wkts (Bamboo Youths)   

MVP, Finals - Terrence Hinds 21 Runs/3-0-7-1

Group Winners - A-Auto Rama Gunners/B-All In One/C-Cricket Addicts/D-Aranguez SC

First Five Wickets in a Match - Jesse Bootan (Home Boys) 3-0-20-6 against Pond Boys

First Fifty in a Match - Kadeem Williams (Aranguez SC)  66 vs Fire Services

MVP, First Round - Hanuman Moonsammy (Aranguez S.C.) 179//4-027-2 

Highest Team Score - Team Sport 170 for 1 against Fire Services

Bowling Team for Lowest Score - Bamboo Youths bowled Ah Cricket Side for 18

Best Team Manager - Rakesh Ramkay (Agostine Limers)

First Published In The Trinidad Guardian.

Sun, 08/31/2014 - 04:57