Hillview beat ElDo East in SSCL

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Defending PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) Premier Division champions, Hillview College bounced back from their opening round loss to Princes Town West Secondary with a hard-fought two-wicket win over cross-town rivals El Dorado East Secondary in their round two match, at Honeymoon Park, El Dorado, yesterday.

After dismissing El Dorado for 149, Hillview got to 150 for eight to get their campaign back on track after losing to Princes Town by 28 runs on the opening day, Tuesday.

Princes Town, building on the win, kept their momentum going, defeating Fatima College by three wickets yesterday, while Presentation College Chaguanas defeated Trinity College East by six wickets, Barrackpore West Secondary beat Vishnu Boys Hindu College by 62 runs, and Carapichaima East Secondary whipped Naparima Boys College by 45 runs.

Meanwhile, in the Championship Division, St Mary’s College, led by middle-order batsman Jason Batson’s 161 and right-arm pacer Jashua Clarke’s six for ten, defeated Union Claxton Bay Secondary (UCB) by 352 runs, at Invader’s Ground in Felicity.

St Mary’s reached 397 for seven with Joshua Da Silva (80) and Jamel Hunte (74) also getting half-centuries. In reply, UCB were dismissed for just 45.

Yesterday’s Round 2 Scores

Premier Division

El Dorado East Sec 149 (Shaquille McDavid 34, Tevon Jadoo 27; Nikoli Nyron 3/35, Amrit Rampersad 4/35) vs Hillview College 150-8 (Camilo Carimbocas 34, Jonathan Bootan 22, Kristoff Lewis 14; Nathanial McDavid 4/25, Tevon Jadoo 2/19)

—Hillview won by two wickets

Carapichaima East Sec 190-8 (D Edwards 42, Justin Joseph 40, Christopher Vincent 28; Clevon Kalawan 2/37, Kazeem Mohammed 2/20, Jovan Ali 2/30) vs Naparima Boys College 145 (Kazeem Mohammed 31, Roberto Samai 37; Anderson Phillip 2/34, Dejoun Charles 2/30, Justin Joseph 2/21)

—Carapichaima won by 45 runs

Barrackpore West Sec 159 (Jeron Maniram 91, Keron Kanhai 24; Kirstan Kallicharan 3/22, Bryan Boodram 3/20) vs Vishnu Boys Hindu College 97 (Kirstan Kallicharan 25, S Prince 18; Jeron Maniram 3/19, Shane Smith 2/13)

—Barrackpore won by 62 runs

Trinity College East 83 (Keagan Simmons 18; Kamil Pooran 3/14, 

Emilio Gopaul 2/10 Tyasi Cuffy 2/18) vs Presentation College Chaguanas 86-4 (Christian Thurton 52 n.o.)

—Presentation won by six wickets

Fatima College 106 (Kelly Rosales 32, Donovan Clayton 22; Jonathan Williams 2/16, Gabriel Blackwell 2/18) vs Princes Town West Sec107-7 (Terrance Nanan 24, Negus Smith 22; Sean Persad 2/9, Anand Lochan 2/19)

—Princes Town won by 3 wickets

Championship Division 

St Mary’s College 397-7 (Jason Batson 161, Joshua Da Silva 80, Jamel Hunte 74) vs UCB 45 (Jashua Clarke 6/10, Matthew DaCosta 2/10)

—St Mary’s won 352 runs

Iere High 195 (Simian Ramjattan 30, Jyd Goolie 18) vs Toco Sec 97 (Jyd Goolie 5/13, Keyron Ramlal 4/21)

—Iere won by 98 runs

Shiva Boys’ Hindu College 114 vs ASJA Boys’ College 115-9

—ASJA Boys won by one wicket

Barataria South Sec 150 vs Preysal Sec 40

—Barataria won by 110 runs

Cowen Hamilton Sec vs Presentation College San Fernando

—Match Abandoned

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Thu, 01/23/2014 - 17:15