Heavy defeat for Sagicor HPC

DHAKA, Bangladesh – The Sagicor High Performance Centre team failed in their bid for a clean sweep, when Bangladesh-A crushed them by nine wickets in a low-scoring, final match of their One-day series on Tuesday.

The Sagicor HPC team were bowled out for 54 in 18 overs, after they decided to bat in the third match at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.

No Sagicor HPC batsman reached 20 with Keddy Lesporis finishing with the top score of 15 and Yannic Cariah not out 11.

Every other batsman was dismissed for a single-figure score, as spinners Naeem Islam, the Man-of-the-Match, and Enamul Haque Jr, along with medium-fast bowlers Abul Hasan and Soumya Sarkar all ending with two wickets apiece.

To add insult to injury, the Sagicor HPC then saw the home team race to their modest target even before the 10th over with Mominul Haque, not out on 25, and Anamul Haque, not out on 23, taking the A-Team over the threshold.

The Sagicor HPC however, won the three-match series 2-1, following an 11-run win in the first match last Friday at the same venue, where they also clinched a 53-run victory in the second match two days ago.

The two sides will now contest a two-match Twenty20 series on Thursday and Friday before the Sagicor HPC leave for home on Saturday.

The Sagicor HPC never recovered after Andre Fletcher was run out for a duck from the first ball of the match and fellow opener Trevon Griffith was lbw to Abul also for a duck two deliveries later, leaving the visitors two for two.

Lesporis got the innings moving, but Abul removed him in the fifth over, and the Sagicor HPC dressing room continued to have a revolving door.

Sagicor HPC made four changes, bringing Fletcher, Griffith, Kjorn Ottley and Jason Dawes in to replace Jermaine Blackwood, Marlon Barclay, Kyle Hope and Sheldon Cotterrell.



A. Fletcher run out 0

T. Griffith lbw b Abul Hasan 0

K. Ottley b Soumya Sarkar 9

K. Lesporis c Mominul Haque b Abul Hasan 15

Y. Cariah not out 11

*C. Brathwaite lbw Soumya Sarkar 2

+J. Hamilton b Naeem Islam 5

 V. Permaul lbw b Enamul Haque Jr 2

J. Dawes b Naeem Islam 2

J. Warrican run out 4

 D. Grant b Nazmul Apu b Enamul Haque Jr 0

Extras (lb1, w3) 4

TOTAL (all out, 18 overs) 54

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-2, 3-23, 4-27, 5-35, 6-40, 7-44, 8-47, 9-53

Bowling: Abul Hasan 4-0-17-2 (w1); Soumya Sarkar 5-0-22-2 (w1); Naeem Islam 4-1-5-2; Enamul Haque Jr 4-0-9-2 (w1); Nazmul Apu 1-1-0-0

BANGLADESH-A (target: 55 off 50 overs)

Soumya Sarkar retired hurt 0

+Anamul Haque not out 23

Shahriar Nafees c wkpr Hamilton b Permaul 4

Mominul Haque not out 25

Extras (w2, nb2) 4

TOTAL (1 wkts, 8.4 overs) 56

Naeem Islam, Asif Ahmed, *Enamul Haque Jr, Nazmul Apu, Mahmudul Hasan, Abul Hasan, Ziaur Rahman did not bat

Fall of wickets: 1-4; NB: Soumya Sarkar retired hurt at 0-0

Bowling: Permaul 3-0-18-1; Dawes 3-1-14-0 (nb1, w2); Warrican 1.4-0-11-0; Grant 1-0-13-0 (w1)

Result: Bangladesh-A won by nine wickets (248 balls remaining)

Series: Sagicor HPC won three-match series 2-1

Toss: Sagicor HPC

Man-of-the-Match: Naeem Islam (Bangladesh-A)

Umpires: Tanvir Ahmed, Gazi Sohel

Match referee: Akhtar Ahmad Shipar

Reserve umpire: Masudur Rahman Mukul

Tue, 10/02/2012 - 05:28