Guyanese, T&T players dominate SCA awards

Toronto, Canada - Guyanese and Trinidad and Tobago players dominated awards at the 33rd Annual Scarborough Cricket Association (SCA) presentation ceremony on Sunday evening at the Eastown, Banquet Hall. 

Former Guyana fast bowler and Hawaiian Arctic Cricket Club’s Trevon Garraway was given the Most Valuable Player (MVP) prize after his outstanding bowling performance in the Premier Division final against Bawa XI "A".

The right-arm quickie finished with six wickets to lead the pack of recipients while his fellow countrymen Narine Ramsaroop copped the award for his 123 and Ricardo Jadunauth for his 103 as the leading batsmen in the Second Division.

Trinidadian Rudy Gibson was awarded the MVP of the Second division final with his all-round performance to cap a rewarding year for Islanders United C.C in their first season back in the SCA.

Curtis Richards, another Trinidadian, was magnificent with the bat aggregating a total of 396 runs in the Second division with a top score of 157 runs, also the highest individual score in the league for 2013. 

Other outstanding awardees were given trophies while batting gloves and pads went to special individuals for their significant contributions also.

Guest speaker, Dr. Vidya Gyan Tota-Maharaj, the Consul General for the twin island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in Toronto, told the gathering that she was very excited to be a part of the night’s proceedings.

“I want to congratulate all the awardees as they once again made full use of the available facilities in Scarborough; it shows they really enjoying their cricket and hope they can continue to perform with the same level of consistency,” Dr. Tota-Maharaj related.

She also spoke about the commitment the SCA’s Executives have made to celebrate another year of special prizes and congratulated them for their continued effort to have the game playing on a regular basis.

“I would like to congratulate the SCA’s executives for their wonderful work over the years; tonight’s presentation really demonstrated their commitment and hardwork and I [am] confident they will continue in this same manner; season greetings to all of you,” Tota-Maharaj stated.

President of the Association, Deo Samaroo, was also delighted with the players’ impressive performances this year and said he and his colleagues will continue to keep the game alive and to bring out more players to participate.

“We have been very energetic over the years and as I ‘speak’ we can be very proud of what we have done over the years; special congratulations to all the awardees and I must say thanks to the hardworking and dedicated members of the association and also to the sponsors for their continued contributions,” Samaroo declared.

The other members of the association are: Bisham Singh (V-President), Vish Jadunauth (Chief Financial Officer), Mahesh Raghuram (Secretary), Shiv Persaud (Registrar/Statistician), Eon Gunraj (Assistant Secretary), Budhave Anandjit (Grounds Co-ordinator) and Richard Ramlall (PRO). 

Winners are as follows: Premier Division (Frank Faubert Trophy) Hawaiian Arctic CC, First Division (Richard Ramlall Trophy), Highland Creek Cricket Club "B" Second Division (Norman Sue Trophy), Islanders United CC. T20 Champion Bilal CC. T20 Consolation Champion, Durham United CC.

Meanwhile, the association also took the opportunity to thank the various sponsors and names are: Action Honda, Speedway Motors, LR General Contracting, Shiv Persaud & Associates of Primerica, Hawaiian Arctic INC, Platypus Sporting Goods, Powerplay Sports, Blackash Sports, Norman Sue Bakery, Caribbean Wave Restaurant, Paradise Travel, Active Green Ross, S&S Trophy and 80Print-Toronto.

Tue, 11/19/2013 - 14:57