Guyana in must-win situation

GEORGETOWN, GUYANA - Hosts Guyana find themselves in a must-win situation if they intend to make the final four of this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Super50 tournament, when they take on Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) in a sixth-round day/night encounter at the Guyana National Stadium, from 14:00hrs today.

They will start as favourites, taking into consideration their 46-run victory over the same opponents in the Regional 4-Day

encounter two days ago. They also welcome back the dependable West Indies middle order batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

However, the Guyanese are languishing in the penultimate position on the points table with 4 points gained from their first round victory over the Leeward Islands, with a net run rate of -0.585, while they suffered consecutive losses to Barbados, Windward Islands and Trinidad and Tobago thereafter. CCC are in third position with 10 points from four matches with a net run rate that reads 0.476.

A win for Guyana would not only boost their position on the points table, but also increase their confidence for the all-important final round clash against Jamaica on Sunday in another day/night encounter at the same venue.

Selecting the final XI for this contest is a tedious task placed on the shoulders of skipper Veerasammy Permaul and the team’s coach Esaun Crandon, but pugnacious opener Trevon Griffith, who recently completed his stint at the WICB’s Sagicor High Performance Centre, is destined to open Guyana’s batting.

His opening partner will either be Ramnaresh Sarwan, who is named along with Permaul and Narsingh Deonarine in the West Indies 30-man provisional squad for the ICC Championship trophy in England, or Chanderpaul.

Surprisingly to many, leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo is leading Guyana’s batting averages with 52.00 while vice-captain Leon Johnson is the leading run-scorer with 141 runs, followed by all-rounder Christopher Barnwell who is in India representing the Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise in this year’s Indian Premier League, with 123.

Griffith is the other batsman to aggregate over 100 runs for Guyana, scoring 112 to date at an average of 22.00, followed by Assad Fudadin with 54 and Bishoo with 52.  No other batsman has tallied over 50 runs in this format to date.

The middle order batting lineup rests on the capable shoulders of Deonarine, Johnson, Sarwan or Chanderpaul (if either one of them is not used as Griffith’s partner at the top), Steven Jacobs and wicketkeeper/batsman Anthony Bramble, who played at this level before in 2010.

Bishoo, Permaul, Paul Wintz, Rajiv Ivan, Zaheer Mohammed-Shadir and Ronsford Beaton are expected to not only lead Guyana’s bowling lineup, with support from Deonarine and Jacobs, but also bolster the lower order batting.

According to the CCC’s team manager Horton Dolphin, his team will be looking to rebound from their eight-wicket loss to Trinidad and Tobago in their previous match and the Regional 4-Day loss to Guyana.

“We are definitely looking for a rebound win against Guyana, having lost the previous game to Trinidad and Tobago and the four-day encounter against Guyana outright. Added to that, a win would boost our chances of making the final four of this competition much better,” said Dolphin.

While their final 11 is unknown, their batting will hinge around skipper Kyle Corbin, Chadwick Walton, Shacaya Thomas, Nekoli Parris, Raymon and Floyd Reifer and Nicholas Alexis, while Parris, Ryan Austin, Kesrick Williams and the fiery Jason Dawes will lead their bowling charge.

Admission to the venue is $500, the umpires are Peter Nero and Nigel Duguid and the final XI for both teams will be chosen from:

Guyana: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Trevon Griffith, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Leon Johnson, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Steven Jacobs, Rajiv Ivan,  Narsingh Deonarine, Anthony Bramble, Devendra Bishoo, Zaheer Mohammed-Shadir, Paul Wintz and Ronsford Beaton.

CCC: Kyle Corbin (captain), Chadwick Walton, Shacaya Thomas, Floyd Reifer, Nekoli Parris, Raymon Reifer, Nicholas Alexis, Jason Dawes, Anthony Alleyne, Ryan Austin, Kesrick Williams, Marquez Clarke and Akeem Dewar.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Thu, 04/04/2013 - 04:05