Guyana looking to end One Day drought

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Statistician Charwayne Walker turns attention on the Guyana team 8-year one day drought at the regional level, reflecting as the team try to claim their tenth title at this level.

Come 2014 the Amazon Warriors will be looking for Regional one day Championship # 10.  The last time the Warriors won the tournament was 2005.  

The hero on that occasion was Albion’s Sewnarine Chattergoon who scored a magnificent unbeaten 119 at Bourda against Barbados.

The first time the land of the majestic Kaieteur Falls won the Championship was April 1980 under the leadership of Roy Federicks who led from the front with a pugnacious 119 in the finals against the Leewards at the A.R.G in St, John’s.

Three years later 1983 the legendary Clive Lloyd emulated his DCC club mate when he led Guyana to title # two against Jamaica at Bourda.  

The hero for the Land of many waters was Garfield Charles who rocked the Reggae boys with 5 for 18.

Milton Pydanna was the man wearing the captaincy arm band when Guyana won championship # 3 in 1985 against Jamaica at Bourda.  

The land of the majestic Kaieteur Falls fourth title was shared with the Leewards 1993 at DCC.  Roger Harper was the man wearing the Captaincy Arm Band then.

Guyana’s fifth title was also shared this time with Trinidad in 1995 with Carl Hooper was the victorious Captain.  Guyana also won Championships sixth and seven (1998, 2001) under Hooper.

The losing finalist were Leewards and Barbados.

Guyana won Championships eight and nine under Shivnarine Chanderpaul’s captaincy in 2003 and 2005.

Since, then the boys from the South America main land have failed to bring the Bacon Home.  The big question will soon be answered; can they do it this time?

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Wed, 12/18/2013 - 20:57