Guyana cricketers resume training today

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The national senior cricketers will resume training today after a three-day break with the aim of working on their skills and sustaining their fitness ahead of this year’s West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Four-day and NAGICO Super50 tournaments.

A provisional squad of 37 players minus all-rounders Narsingh Deonarine and Steven Jacobs, veteran middle-order batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul and left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul, ended the first phase of preparations on Monday when they broke camp for the New Year’s Day holiday.

Prior to the break, the cricketers underwent a rigorous three-day fitness training programme along with some technical sessions.

Head coach Esaun Crandon was elated after observing the attitude of the players during the camp, which he felt raised the fitness standard of the cricketers.

“The players’ attitude towards such an intense period of physical training was exceptional and very professional,” Crandon told Guyana Times Sport.

However, he indicated that during this phase of preparation the coaching staff will work on some of the notable technical errors that were spotted before the squad ended the first phase. This phase will run until January 25. The cricketers will also be involved in some practice matches as part of their preparations.

Meanwhile, West Indies and Guyana veteran batsman middle-order batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul and his West Indies counterpart Veersammy Permaul will join the squad today.

Both players missed the first phase of preparations due to West Indies duties in New Zealand.

On the other hand, manager Alvin Johnson confirmed on Thursday that all-rounder Steven Jacobs will not be part of the squad. Jacobs is tipped to lead the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) in this year NAGICO Super50 regional tournament.

The players shortlisted for possible selections on the Guyana team for the upcoming NAGICO Super50 and Regional Four-day tournaments commencing next month in Trinidad and Tobago are: Leon Johnson, Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Anthony Bramble, Robin Bacchus, Assad Fudadin, Zaheer Mohamed, Royston Crandon, Christopher Barnwell, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Vishal Singh, Ronsford Beaton, Rajiv Ivan, Amir Khan, Trevon Griffith, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shaquille Williams, Jonathan Foo, Narsingh Deonarine, Steven Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Raun Johnson, Jason Sinclair, Paul Wintz, Anthony Adams, Rajendra Chandrika, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Stoll, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Ryan Ramdass, Chris Pattadin, Royan Fredricks, Totaram Bishun and Collis Butts.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Thu, 01/02/2014 - 18:38