Guillen, Bravo put Queen’s Park in ‘quarters’

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - A blazing unbeaten innings of 82 from skipper Justin Guillen ensured Queen’s Park Cricket Club a place in the last eight of the Premier Division Twenty20 competition’s Group A, as they thumped Moosai Sports by nine wickets yesterday at Honeymoon Park, Tunapuna.

The “Parkites” restricted Moosai to 165 for eight, then made light work of the total through a big opening partnership of 130 between Guillen and Darren Bravo.

Even after Bravo departed for a well-played 57 off 41 deliveries, featuring seven fours and two sixes, the frenetic pace of the innings continued, as Marlon Barclay (12 not out) came in to help his skipper finish things off. Guillen himself struck eight fours and six sixes.

Moosai’s total looked to be competitive, with Wasim Haslim leading the way with 64 overs (46 balls; four fours, four sixes). Lendl Simmons (29) and Vikash Mohan (27) also chipped in, each facing 21 balls.

Queen’s Park’s best bowler was Tion Webster, who grabbed four for 34.

Unbeaten Merry Boys continued in that trend by cruising to victory over Munroe Road by five wickets with 38 balls to spare as they overhauled their opponents’ total of 118 for nine at Munroe Road.

And Alescon Comets edged a low-scoring thriller, dismissing Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports for 121 with two balls to spare to win by one run after Comets, batting first, made 122 for nine.

Group B saw PowerGen get an exciting last-ball win over Esmeralda Sports at Esmeralda, while Caldrac Sports and First Citizens Clarke Road enjoyed comfortable wins over Jenexcon Tableland at Tableland and CLICO Preysal at Wilson Road respectively.

Yesterday’s Premier Division T20 scores:

Group A

Munroe Road 118/9 (20 overs) (Derwin Christian 35, Hanuman Moonsammy 23; Marlon Richards 3/15, Javon Searles 2/29) vs Merry Boys 122/5 (13.4 overs) (Mario Belcon 50, Aaron Alfred 25, Nishal Guyadeen 3/21)

Merry Boys won by five wickets

Alescon Comets 122/9 (20 overs) (Stephen Wharwood 38, Vishal Singh 23; Yannic Cariah 4/24, Ryan Baksh 2/14) vs Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports 121 all out (19.4 overs) (Krishna Arjune 52; Rishi Ramgoolie 3/41, Marlon Bharath 2/18, Imran Khan 2/20, Raj Nanan 2/15)

Alescon Comets won by one run

Moosai Sports 165/8 (20 overs) (Wasim Haslim 64, Vikash Mohan 27, Lendl Simmons 29; Tion Webster 4/34) vs Queen’s Park 166/1 (15 overs) (Justin Guillen 82 n.o., Darren Bravo 57, Marlon Barclay 12 n.o.; Lendl Simmons 1/34)

Queen’s Park won by nine wickets

Group B

Esmeralda 161/9 (20 overs) (Keon Isaac 39, Dwight Joseph 38; Silas Cooper 2/30) vs PowerGen 162/7 (20 overs) (Jason Mohammed 39, Sherwin 29, Silas Cooper 27, Denesh Ramdin 24, Nicholas Sookdeosingh 23; Teshawn Castro 3/34, Bryan Boodram 3/39)

PowerGen won by three wickets

Caldrac Sports 198/7 (20 overs) (Mark Deyal 68, Shamarh Brooks 42, Franklyn Rouse 33; Nicholas Rajkumar 4/34) vs Tableland 171 all out (19.4 overs) (Evin Lewis 89, Stephen Taylor 27; Christopher Vincent 4/25, Ancil Nedd 2/33, Allan Lawrence 2/26)

Caldrac Spots won by 27 runs

CLICO Preysal 132/7 

(20 overs) (Narsingh Deonarine 53; Derone Davis 3/27, Mukesh Persad 2/16, Yannick Ottley 2/26) vs Clarke Road 133/2 (18 overs) (Adrian Ali 102; Eugene La Fleur 1/23)

Clarke Road won by 

eight wickets

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Wed, 04/23/2014 - 21:04