GSCL Inc Republic Cup Wolf Warriors, Trophy Stall reach final

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Wolf Warriors and Trophy Stall were down to contest the final of the Georgetown Softball Cricket League’s Republic Cup last evening at the Everest ground.

The tournament which was held in collaboration with the National Sports Commission also saw Trophy Stall reaching the final of the Open category and were down to face Floodlights.

In the open category on Saturday, Wolf’s Warriors made light work of Memorex in their semi final encounter at Demerara Cricket Club ground. Wolf’s Warriors batted first and scored 185 all out in 19.3 overs.

Amrit Rai led with 70 while Safraz Kharim supported with 43. David Lukenauth took four wickets for Memorex who were bowled out for 93 in 15.5 overs in reply.

Keon Sinclair was the only batsman that reached double figures with 16; Mark Harold and Ameer Nizamuddeen grabbed three wickets each, while Diaram Singh and Narine Bailey claimed two apiece.

Regal went down to Trophy Stall by four wickets in the next semi final at Everest.

Regal took first strike and posted 145 before they were bowled out in 19.5 overs.

Khalid Haslim scored 29 and Richard Latiff made 27.

Sewchan Budhu captured 3-21 and Fazal Rafiek 2-26.

Trophy Stall replied with 146-6 in 16.4 overs. Sachin Singh top scored with 56 and Wasim Haslim made 47.

Tyrone Sanasie picked up 3-16 for Regal who put down several catches which aided in their demise.

In the Masters semis, Regal defeated Wellman by 58 runs. Regal rattled up 216-8 in 20 overs, batting first. Eric Thomas led with 89, while Clyde Butts supported with 26 and Raymond Harper 24.

N. Samlall and Motilall (only name given) took two wickets each.

Mike’s Wellman were bowled out for 158 in 19. 5 overs in reply.

Lloyd Rooplall scored 69 as Mahendra Arjune snared 4-19, Satro Seeraj 2-21 and Mahendra Hardyal 2-30.

Floodlight overcame Frontline Rangers by 38 runs. Floodlight took first strike and managed 123-6 in 20 overs. Wayne Jones and R. Khellawan were their leading batsman with 36 and 31, respectively; Gary Mac Koy took 2-11. Frontline were skittled for 85 in 17. 5 overs; Fazal Ali made 27 and Eon Abel 21; E. Canterbury and Jones claimed three wickets each.

In the final preliminary round games at DCC, Frontline Rangers got the better of Parika Defenders by nine runs in the masters segment. Frontline scored 186-6 in 20 overs, batting first, Rafeek Ali slammed 101 (7×6,9×4), while Fizul Ali made 39 and Abel 28. Parika mustered 177- 4 in 20 overs in reply. O. Black made 58 and Asif Ahmad 28.

Regal thumped Floodlight by four wickets at Everest . Ramesh Narine stroked 156 as Floodlight made 156 all out in 20 overs, batting first. Wayne Jones assisted with 24 not out. Trevor Kippins took 2-21. Regal responded with 160-6 in 17 overs. Tony Ameerally led with 52 (6×4), Kippins made 27 and J. Bhoj 22.

DVD Titans lost to Regal by seven wickets in the open division. Titans were bowled out for 88 in 12.3 overs after taking first turn at the crease. C. Arjune made 20 as Richard Latiff grabbed 5-13 and Mark Bobb 2-26. Regal reached their target in 5.3 overs with Chien Gittens leading the way with 46 not out and Patrick Rooplall 33. Troy Gonsalves had 2-8.

Wolf’s Warriors beat Speedboat by six wickets. Speedboat took first strike and were bowled out for 135 in 17.3 overs. Greg Singh scored 22; Mark Harold bagged 3-10 and Diaram Persaud 2-21. Wolf’s Warriors reached their target in 15.1 overs in reply. Amrit Rai was their leading batman with 67.

The Masters final will commence at 13:00hrs before Trophy Stall battle Regal in a female exhibition game. The open final is set to start at 18:00hrs and will be broadcast live on NCN radio. Admission to the venue is $500 and music will be provided by Caribbean Hot Shots band.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Sun, 02/16/2014 - 18:48