GCB/PEPSI Inter-County 50 overs - Defending champs face Essequibo today

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The once famous Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) ground, home to Leon Johnson, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan, will be buzzing with activity from 09:00hrs today, when the first round of the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)-organised, Pepsi-sponsored senior Inter-county 50 overs tournament bowls off.

Defending champions Demerara, under the astute captaincy of West Indies T20 all-rounder Christopher Barnwell, will take on the country’s perennial whipping boys, Essequibo, in the opening encounter - a game that can certainly decide one of the two teams to compete in the final at the Albion Community Centre ground next Sunday.

The Demerara team for this tournament was released earlier this week - one that Barnwell views as a good team that is blended with youth and experience, one that he expects to go out there, put in the extra effort and defend the title they won from Berbice last year.

There are five openers named in the defending champions’ 14-man squad - Guyana Amazon Warriors’ Trevon Griffith, Rajendra Chandrika, Shemroy Barrington, new boy Andrew Lyght Jr and the vast-improving Robin Bacchus.

On any given day, this quintet of batsmen can destroy any bowling attack on local soil and with a middle order that shows the in-form Barnwell and his Guyana Amazon Warriors’ teammate Steven Jacobs, Derwin Christian and to an extent Zaheer Mohamed, Essequibo need to know that today’s encounter is not a walk in the park.

Amir Khan, Shaquille Williams and the three fast bowlers, Andre Stoll, Kellon Carmichael and Paul Wintz, are no pushovers with the bat, which means that the Essequibians will either put up or shut up for today’s contest.

Wintz, Stoll and Carmichael will take care of the new ball with support from Barnwell and Bacchus, while the spinners Khan, Williams, Jacobs and Mohammed will add valuable support to the bowling department, once the sheen is taken off both new balls.

National T20 selectee Dillon Heyliger and former Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) fast bowler Gilford Moore are two of the players listed in the Royan Fredericks-led Essequibo lineup, who will definitely be looking to stem the flow of defeats they have been encountering of late at the Inter-county level.

Heyliger was selected to represent Guyana in the 2012 West Indies Cricket Board Caribbean T20 tournament, but found it difficult to make the final 11, while Moore played a few games for CCC in that said contest.

Their experience, coupled with that of Fredericks, Heyliger’s older brother Jason and the unrelated Anthony and Ricardo Adams, should ensure a great showing for the Cinderella County lineup in this year’s tournament.

National Under-19 spinner Herry Greene, who, since his introduction to the senior team three years ago during the Essequibo Cricket Board’s rebuilding process, has never looked back. He has always finding favour with the selectors and may prove to be a handful against opposition batsmen, once he keeps a level head.

The vast-improving Kemo Paul and Mark Tyrell will add valuable support to Moore in the fast-bowling department, especially in the absence of national fast bowler Ronsford Beaton, with Heyliger and the relatively unknown Sheldon Alexander also throwing in their support to the quick bowlers.

Anthony Adams, Greene, Jason Heyliger and to an extent Ricardo Adams, will take care of Essequibo’s spin-bowling department and should be looking to defend well any total posted by their batting lineup which includes Fredericks, Ricardo Peters, Dillon and Jason Heyliger, Vishwanauth Lall, Vijay Surujpaul and Kevon Boodie. Both Adams are no rabbits with the bat.

The Essequibo team from which the final XI will be chosen reads: Royan Fredericks (captain), Anthony Adams (vice-captain), Ricardo Adams, Ricardo Peters, Jason Heyliger, Sheldon Alexander, Dillon Heyliger, Mark Tyrell, Vishwanauth Lall, Kevon Boodie, Vijay Surujpaul, Herry Greene, Kemo Paul and Gilford Moore.

Demerara’s XI will be selected from: Christopher Barnwell (captain), Steven Jacobs, Trevon Griffith, Robin Bacchus, Andrew Lyght, Rajendra Chandrika, Shemroy Barrington, Derwin Christian, Zaheer Mohammed, Amir Khan, Andre Stoll, Paul Wintz, Kellon Carmichael and Shaquille Williams.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Fri, 09/20/2013 - 17:57