GCB U-17 Inter-County competition bowls off today

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Weather permitting, action in this year’s Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)-sponsored and organised Under-17 Inter-county competition is set to bowl off today at the Enmore Community Centre ground at 09:30hrs.

According to a press release from the GCB, Ronaldo Renee, Brandon Persaud and Nathan Persaud have been identified as the captains of the Demerara, Berbice and Essequibo teams respectively, with today’s first-round match pitting Essequibo against Demerara.

Cyril Garnath and Edward Bowen have been identified as the umpires to officiate in this contest, with Zaheer Mohammed as the standby official. For tomorrow’s game which will be played at the Wales Community Centre ground between Berbice and Essequibo, Mohamed and Bowen will officiate in the middle with Garnath as the standby official.

The final round will be contested at the Everest Cricket Club ground on Saturday between Berbice and Demerara, under the guidance of Mohammed and Yosef-Yisrael, with Bowen as the third official. The teams for this tournament with their managers and coaches read:

Demerara: Ronaldo Renee (captain), Raymond Perez, Travis Persaud, Malcolm Hubbard, Ramnarine Chatura, Sherfane Rutherford, Jadell McAlister, Richie Looknauth, Kelvin Sewpersaud, Ewart Samuels, Samuel McKenzie, Ershad Alli, Timothy McAlmont, Ronaldo Mohamed, Navindra Seeram, Vishwanauth Ramlakhan, Sagar Hetheramani, Darshan Persaud, Nikolai Reddy, Bhaskar Yadram. The manager is Clive Grimmond and the coach is Gavin Nedd.

Berbice: Adrian Sukhwah, Ritesh Omroa, Randy Wade, Kevin Sinclair, Steve Deonarine, Brandon Persaud (captain), Devindra Chatterpaul, Jaleel Jafar, Asif Ally, Nicholas Seonarine, Sylus Tyndell, Deon Sinclair, Randy Singh, Rameshwar Somwaru. The Manager is Leslie Solomon and the coach is Julian Moore.

Essequibo: Nathan Persaud (captain), Kemo Paul, Akini Adams, Saddiq Mohamed, Kevin Martinborough, Miguel Jones, Besham Dasrath, Satesh Latchana, Wayne Fernandes, Jonathan Fernandes, Mark Williams, Sachin Persaud, Joshua Jones, Christopher Latchman. The manager is Nazeer Mohamed and the coach is Andy Ramnarine.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Wed, 06/18/2014 - 04:28