GCB rolls out its National T20 League

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The Drubahadur-steward Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) is now rolling out its National T20 League which will be called “GUYANA T20 CRICKET LEAGUE” (GTCL) and will be contested by eight teams who will be doing so for supremacy on an annual basis. 

This competition will be played prior to the Limacol Caribbean Premier League (LCPL) each year and can be used as a feeder for the Guyana Amazon Warriors team this year and into the future, with a great opportunity for more of our local players to be part of the Guyana Amazon Warriors lineup and later vie for greater heights.

The GCB is currently in discussions with two potential title sponsors but has not yet finalised any formal arrangement with any entity in this regard.

The eight teams will be drawn from the following geographical areas and this competition has been deliberately structured to showcase as many players as possible and is not intended to be a Club or County arrangement:

Team 1 – Upper Berbice – (Albion to Crabwood Creek), Team 2 – Lower Berbice -(West Coast Berbice to Fyrish), Team 3 – East Coast Demerara, Team 4 – Georgetown ‘A’, Team 5 – Georgetown ‘B’, Team 6 – East Bank Demerara including Linden, Team 7 – West Demerara and Team 8 – Essequibo.

The GCB will also be seeking team sponsors for each of the teams with special preference being given to sponsors located within the geographical area of each team.

This strategy will allow the teams to generate a following and spectator support from their particular geographical area and ultimately generate a higher level of competition within the teams who should take pride in representing the areas from which they came.

Discussions have already commenced with some potential team sponsors and the GCB will also be inviting at least 16 players from the Caribbean to be part of this tournament which will be held during a two-week period in either May or June of this year.

The Rules for the tournament are currently being drawn up and one of the features of the competition will be the allowance for local guest players, which means local players who may have missed out on selection within their geographical teams above may be eligible for selection with other teams.

This will be done up to a set limit per team so as to ensure that all 8 teams maintain a competitive environment.

For the tournament, there will be 28 preliminary matches, 2 semifinals, a 3rd place playoff and a final played under lights, with matches being played all across Guyana with semis and final at Guyana National Stadium, Providence and Albion Community Centre, while the winners are expected to cart off at least G$10M during the inaugural tournament.

Persons or entities interested in coming on board with this new and exciting venture can make direct contact with the Secretary, Anand Sanasie, at sanasiericky@gmail.com or the Marketing Manager, Mr Raj Singh at rsinsurance63@gmail.com on or before March 31 2014 or they can obtain further details on our website at www.guyanacricketboard.com.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Thu, 03/06/2014 - 23:42