GCA\NBS second division tourney…MYO, GCC and Everest are latest winners

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Muslim Youth Organization (MYO), Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) and Everest were the victorious teams when action in the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA)\ New Building Society (NBS) Second Division 40-over tournament continued last Saturday with three matches.

At MYO, the host defeated Third Class by 2 wickets.

Third Class batted first and were bowled out for 151 in 3.4 overs. Andre O’Neal top scored with 31 (6×4), while Alvin Castello and Shawn Hussein supported with 26 each and Shaun Garnett chipped in with 17. Parmanand Parsram picked up 4-21 and Imran Ayube 2-23.

MYO replied with 152-8 in 20.3 overs. Chien Gittens was their leading batsman with 35 (7×4,1×6), Shafiek Ishmile scored 32 (4×4,1×6) and Zulfikar Alli 18 (3×4,1×6); Trevor Hossain claimed 4-52, Alvin Castello 3-67 and Yovindra Ramnauth 2-16.

At Bourda, Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) overcame Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) by 27 runs. Martin Pestano-Bell 44 (4×4), Khemraj Jaikaran 25 (3×4), Winston Forrester 22 (2×4) and Gavon Charles 22 (1×4) led GCC to 158-7, taking first strike after the game was reduced to 30 overs due to a late start.

Nikosie Barker grabbed 3-23 and Danny Narayan 2-20.  MSC were routed for 131 in 27.1 overs in reply. Barker top scored with 37 (5×4); Winston Forrester claimed 3-25, Shamar Graham 2-9, Devon Lord 2-9 and Bernard Bailey 2-36.

At Malteenoes, Everest got the better of St. Stanislaus by 110 runs in a match which was reduced to 32 overs.

Taking first turn at the crease, Everest rattled up 219-6 off their allotted overs. Khemraj Ramdeen who cracked 65 (6×4,1×6) and Rishi Heeralall 27 (3×4) laid the foundation for Everest challenging total with a second wicket stand of 84, Azad Mohamed supported with 48 (4×4,3×6); Antonio DeFreitas picked up 2-28, while Lyndon Wilson, Michael Salim, Stephen and Deon Sookai had 1 each.

St. Stanislaus were skittled for 109 in 25.2 overs in response. Daniel Williams made 22 not out while Travis Belgrave scored 21 and Micheal Salim 19. Javed Rasheed bagged 4-14, Chris Surat 3-17 and Rafael Singh 2-12.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Tue, 10/01/2013 - 05:51