GCA/CARIB BEER T20…Carib Beer T20 tournament continues today

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Cricket action in the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA)-organised ANSA McAl Carib Beer-sponsored first division T20 cricket competition, which is being played simultaneously with the HADI’S Mall Inc. tournament, continues today with three matches at two venues.

At the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) Camp Ayanganna ground one match will be played. The home team, led by Marcus Watkins, brothers Jeremiah and Steven Harris, Terry Fraser and former Combined Campuses and Colleges fast bowler Gilford Moore, take on Transport Sports Club (TSC) at 0930hrs.

The visitors will have within their lineup, players of the calibre of veterans Shaun Massiah and Kevin Ross, Charwayne McPherson, Sunil Singh, Ryan Hemraj, Stephen Alves and right-arm leg-spinner Azim Azeez, who is expected to trouble the home team batting lineup.

At the Everest Cricket Club ground, two matches will be played. The first bowls off at 09:30hrs between Gandhi Youth Organisation (GYO) and Police Sports Club (PSC), while from 13:30hrs, Guyana National Industrial Corporation (GNIC) and the home team face each other.

Guyana Police Force’s Inter-division Most Exciting Player in the final Rawle Haynes from the victorious Tactical Services Unit (TSU) team, brothers Trevor and Troy Benn, Ricardo Adams, Seon Daniels, Rawle Browne and Randolph Knights are some of the players who will be representing the lawmen in their bid to arrest GYO.

However, with players such as former Guyana and West Indies Under-19 left-hander Kwame Crosse, Garfield DeRouche, Abdul Rahim and Surendra Hiralall in their lineup, GYO will certainly look to put up some resistance to the lawmen, especially since a semi-final spot is up for grabs from this contest.

In the second fixture, national opener Tagenarine Chanderpaul, leg-spinner Amir Khan along with Troy Gonsalves, Javed Rasheed and Adrian Singh, will lead the home team’s defence of their territory against a GNIC lineup which should include Collis Butts, Rayon Griffith, Ranole Bourne, Dexter Solomon, Ryan Shun and national coach Esaun Crandon.

Meanwhile, defending champions Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) and their nemesis Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC) lead the two zones, thus guaranteeing for themselves a place in the semi-finals.

GCC lead Zone ‘A’ with 69 points from their four matches, followed by GYO on 44 points from three, PSC with 38 from a similar number of matches, while TSC and GDF complete the group with 19 and 12 points respectively – accumulating their points from three matches.

In Zone ‘B’, DCC have a mammoth 62 points from three games, followed by GNIC on 21 from two, even as Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) and Everest Cricket Club complete the group standings with 15 and 6 points from two and one match respectively.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Fri, 04/25/2014 - 19:03