Garner again BCA President for 4th term

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - Joel Garner has been retained as president of the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) for a fourth consecutive two-year term.

Garner, a former Barbados captain and outstanding West Indies fast bowler, defeated Conde Riley by 166 votes to 121 at the 11th Special Meeting at Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre this evening.

Riley, a long-standing BCA Board member, also lost his position as First vice-president to Deighton Smith after two other contenders, Gregory Nicholls and Calvin Hope, withdrew.

Smith, a former acting BCA Chief Executive Officer, won by 145 votes to 136. 

Three positions were unchallenged: Second vice-president - Wendell Kellman; Treasurer - Jason King and Secretary - Anthea Ishmael after Gregory Nicholls again withdrew.

Both King and Ishmael are serving in those positions for the first time athough Ishmael was a member of the last Board.

Nicholls had served on the last Board as secretary.

Maurice Gaskin kept his post as Third vice-president with a 171 to 77 triumph over Patricia Greenidge.

Four members were elected to the Board - Hartley Reid gained 139 votes, Ikins Clarke (136), Kamal Springer (117) and Roland Butcher (99).

The other contenders were Greydon Nesfield (87),  Victor Knight (80), Patricia Greenidge (78) and Joseph Tudor (71).

As it stands, there are three other Board members in Calvin Hope, Winston Stafford and Timothy Boyce, all of whom are up for re-election next year. There was, however, uncertainty over Hope's immediate future.

Garner and Smith were elected as directors on the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). Garner polled 124 votes and Smith 95 with Ikins Clarke (33) as the other contender.

Wendell Kellman, with 65 votes and Maurice Gaskin (53) were elected as the BCA representatives on the WICB. Orson Simpson (29) and Clarke (18) were also in contention.

First Published On

Thu, 08/15/2013 - 10:24