Future stars set for ICC U-19 World Cup


ICC Media Release.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates - The 10th edition of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup (ICC U19 CWC) will take place in the UAE from 14 February to 1 March 2014. 

Showcasing their talent will be some of the best young cricketers from 16 countries, with  India looking to defend the title it won in Australia in 2012. If successful, India will become the only team to win the title four times, and the second team after Pakistan to win back-to-back titles.

The sides taking part in the tournament, whose matches will be staged at seven venues, are the 10 Full Member nations Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the West Indies and Zimbabwe; as well as Associate countries Afghanistan, Canada, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Scotland (who all qualified through regional tournaments) and the host United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The 16 teams in the fray have been divided into four groups of four teams each. These are:

As per the tournament format, the top two teams from each group will progress to the Super League quarter-finals while the bottom two will go through to the Plate Championship quarter-finals.

The matches will be played at the following venues: Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; Abu Dhabi Oval 1; Abu Dhabi Oval 2; Sharjah Cricket Stadium; Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai Sports City; ICC Academy Oval 1, Dubai, and ICC Academy Oval 2, Dubai.

On the opening day of the tournament on 14 February, four matches will be played, with 1998 winner England taking on the host UAE at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; Zimbabwe locking horns with Canada at Abu Dhabi Oval 1; New Zealand meeting Sri Lanka at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, and South Africa taking on the West Indies at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Defending champion India will begin its campaign against two-time winner Pakistan at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on the second day of the tournament - 15 February.

The winners of the previous nine editions of this tournament include Australia (1988, 2002 and 2010), England (1998), India (2000, 2008 and 2012) and Pakistan (2004 and 2006).

ICC Media Release.


Sat, 01/25/2014 - 04:53