Domtar, Mico for Masters T20 final

Jamaica Star article.

Kingston, Jamaica - Last year's Wray & Nephew White Overproof Masters T20 champions Domtar Sports Club and 2012 winners Mico Masters scored impressive wins in Sunday's semi-finals at Kensington Park.

Mico defeated St Thomas Masters by nine wickets while Domtar scored a 69-run win over previously unbeaten Wray All Stars.

In the first match St Thomas were demolished for 75 off 18.1 overs. Mico replied with 78 for one in only 9.1 overs.

Carl Brissett, three for seven in three overs, Solomon Darby, two for seven, and Christopher Flemmings, two for 14, were the destroyers for Mico. Samuel Barrett and Timothy Wilson scored 20 each for St Thomas.

When Mico batted it was the consistent Orville Pennant with 46 off 26 balls and captain Michael Donegal with an unbeaten 26 off 31 balls that paved the way with an opening stand of 74.

No-nonsense Mood

Domtar were in a no-nonsense mood in the day's second match. Sent into bat they raced to 205 for three off their allotted 20 overs. Former national player Delroy Morgan became the first player to score a century in the competition this season. He slammed 100 not out off 63 balls. He hit 11 boundaries and two sixes. Marlon Keating scored 42 and Junior Rickets, 28. Terence Corke took two for 37 for Wray All Stars.

Wray All Stars were in early trouble when they batted and never recovered. They ended on 136 for six off their 20 overs. Corke made 43 while Raymond Gayle and Baldwin Virgo both got 21.

Dave Harris, with four for 22, was the top bowler for the winners.

The final will be played at the same venue next Sunday at 2 p.m.

First Published In The Jamaica Star.

Tue, 08/26/2014 - 09:48