Defending champions bow out winless


PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad – Former champions Windward Islands crashed out of the Regional Super50 limited overs competition losing their third straight match in the preliminary round to Ireland by 64 runs at the Queen's Park Oval here Friday evening.

Chasing a victory target of 180, the Windwards folded for 115 in 35 overs with opener Tyrone Theophile 27, the only batsman getting past 20. Andre Fletcher hit 19 and middle order batsman Dalton Polius contributed 17 before being one of three victims to man of the match George Dockrell.

The Windwards were in early tatters losing Johnson Charles with just two runs on the board spooning a catch to Dockrell at short mid-wicket with one run to his name. Their most experienced batsman Andre Fletcher  was out caught at short third man for 19 cutting at  Dockrell who also accounted for Theophile who was trapped leg before wicket.

The Windwards were in deeper trouble when their most productive batsman for the competition Keddy Lesporis edged Max Sorensen to Kevin o' Brien at second slip without scoring.

The run out of Romel Currency 12 and Mervin Mathew for no score later in the innings ensured the Windwards steady procession of batsmen back into the pavilion, their last five wickets falling for 29 runs.

Ireland won the toss and batted first. They too lost wickets at regular intervals and never gained momentum during their innings.

Niall O' Brien topscored with 44 which included two fours and one six. He was stumped by wicketkeeper Andre Fletcher off Dalton Polius playing his first match of the competition. By then Ireland had laboured to 116 for six.

Stuart Thompson tried to rally the lower order before being trapped lbw trying to sweep at Liam Sebastien when on 32. Thompson's departure left Ireland  154 for seven. Ireland's top order again failed to fire, Paul Stirling was the first to go, caught by Keddy Lesporis at slip as he tried to cut the medium pace of Craig Emmanuel.

Captain William Porterfield’s lean run in the competition continued lofting Delorn Johnson to Romel Currency for just three runs. He was the first of three wickets to fall to the left arm seamer. Johnson also sent back  Kevin O' Brien who played on attempting a cut while on 10 and Andrew Mc Brine who was caught by Emmanuel on the deep fine leg boundary  for six.

Johnson finished with three for 25 and Captain Liam Sebastien picked up two for 36 off 10 overs.


Summary Scores:

Ireland Innings: 179 All Out (48.3 Overs). Niall O'Brien 44, Stuart Thompson 32, Max Sorensen 17, Gary Wilson 15; Delorn Johnson 9.3-3-25-3, Liam Sebastien 10-1-36-2, Craig Emmanuel 7-0-24-1, Alston Bobb 8-0-28-1.

Windward Islands Innings: 115 All Out (35 Overs). Tyrone Theophile 27, Andre Fletcher 19, Dalton Polius 17, Romel Currency 12; George Dockrell 7-1-14-3, Andrew Poynter 2-0-11-2, P Stirling 7-2-13-1, Max Sorensen 5-0-16-1.



W Porterfield* c Currency b Johnson 3

P Stirling c Lesporis b Emmanuel 11

Niall O'Brien st Fletcher b Polius 44

G Wilson+ b Sebastien 15

A Poynter st Fletcher b Bobb 14

Kevin O'Brien b Johnson 10

S Thompson LBW Sebastien 32

M Sorensen run out Sebastien 17

A McBrine c Emmanuel b Johnson 6

G Dockrell not out 9

C Young run out Lesporis 1

Total: 179 All Out (49.3 Overs)

Extras: (10WD, 6LB, 1B) 17

Fall of Wickets: 1-19, 2-23, 3-61, 4-94, 5-98, 6-116, 7-154, 8-169, 9-170, 10-170.

Windward Islands Bowling: D Johnson 9.3-3-25-3, C Emmanuel 7-0-24-1, L Sebastien 10-1-36-2, M Mathew 9-0-34-0, A Bobb 8-0-28-1, D Polius 5-0-25-1.

Windward Islands (Target; 180)

J Charles c Dockrell b Thompson 1

T Theophile LBW Dockrell 27

A Fletcher+ c Niall Ob'Brien b Dockrell 19

K Lesporis c Kevin O'Brien b Sorensen 0

D Polius c Poynter b Dockrell 17

R Currency run out Thompson 12

L Sebastien b Poynter 6

C Emmanuel b Stirling 5

M Mathew run out Porterfield 0

A Bobb LBW Poynter 5

D Johnson not out 9

Total: 115 All Out (35 Overs)

Extras: (10WD, 2LB, 2B) 14

Fall of Wickets: 1-2, 2-34, 3-39, 4-57, 5-86, 6-89, 7-94, 8-95, 9-101, 10-.

Ireland Bowling: C Young 4-0-21-0, S Thompson 2-0-13-1, G Dockrell 7-1-14-3, M Sorensen 5-0-16-1, A McBrine 9-1-31-1, P Stirling 7-2-13-1, A Poynter 2-0-11-2.

Result: Ireland won by 64 runs

Man of the Match: George Dockrell (Ireland)

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Danesh Ramdhanie

TV Umpire: Gregory Brathwaite

4th Official: Lyndon Rajkumar

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath


Fri, 02/07/2014 - 18:17