Daren Ganga resigns as T&T captain

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - Daren Ganga has resigned as captain of the T&T cricket team. This was verified in a release from the former captain, yesterday. “It is with great humility and a deep sense of gratitude that I announce my resignation from the post of captain of the T&T cricket team, a position I have held with pride, passion and commitment over the last nine seasons,” said Ganga in a release. His resignation comes on the heel of T&T’s failed attempt to capture the recently concluded West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Super 50, finishing runners-up to Jamaica. “While there have been challenges along the way, they pale in comparison to the innumerable rewarding moments and successes which I have enjoyed alongside my fellow players. Ganga held the position for the past nine years and is considered one of the most successful captains in the local team’s history.  In his more recent success as skipper of the local unit, he led the national team to this year’s Caribbean T20 Championship title. T&T was also victorious in the Ethiad T20 Tournament held in Canada earlier this year.

He said: “I have viewed this position of leadership as both a privilege and a tremendous responsibility that I have taken seriously during my tenure. “I do not see this move as the end of my playing career as I still has interest in representing T&T and will make himself available for selection. “I wish to make it abundantly clear that I am not retiring from cricket and I pledge my support to the new captain”. Ganga, who has attained his law degree, and is the founder of the Daren Ganga Foundation believes that one of his most important duties as captain was to foster the development of the players in the  team as a critical aspect of succession planning.

“One of the most fulfilling aspects of my captaincy was the opportunity to contribute to T&T’s rise from the lower tiers of West Indian cricket to the regional powerhouse it is today. “The evolution of the team into the mature unit it is, along with the emergence of a pool of potential leaders within the team reaffirm that the time is right for relinquishing the reins of captaincy. Ganga used the opportunity to thank his wife and family for their “ unwavering” support. “I wish to also recognise my two brothers who have made tremendous sacrifices for what I have accomplished to date. “To my teammates who have been there through thick and thin, your contribution and support for me in my role as captain was integral to all that we have accomplished as a team. “I am also grateful to all of my friends and well wishers who continue to inspire and motivate me to strive for excellence as a cricketer.”

Daren Ganga Professional Profile

Most successful Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Captain winning:
• President’s One-day Title 2004.
• Carib Beer Cup (regional 4 day competition) 2006.
• Carib Beer International Challenge 2006
• Runners-up in the Stanford 20/20 Tournament 2006.
• KFC Cup (regional one-day title)2007.
• WICB 50 over runners up 2007-8.
• Carib Beer International Challenge 2007.
• Stanford 20/20 Champions in 2008.
• Stanford 20/20 Club Champions in 2008 defeating Middlesex County. 
• Runners Up 2008 Carib Cup. 
• WICB 50 Over Champions in 2008 and 2009. 
• Finalist in the inaugural Airtel 20/20. Club Champions League in India 2009. 
• Caribbean T20 Champions 2011. 
• Ethiad T20 Tournament-Canada 2011. 
• Runners up WICB Super 50 2011.

Highest aggregate of runs in regional four day cricket by a TT player, 5654 runs at 44.17; 13 centuries and 27 fifties from 82 matches with a high score of 265.
• 1669 runs from 62 one day matches( 50 overs) for TT at average of 32.09 with one hundred and 9 fifties. 
• 36 T20 matches, 26 won, 6 lost, 1 draw, 3 no results. 
• 36 T20 matches, 458 runs at 19.91 with high score of 62 not out. 
• Nominated for the FCB Sportsman of the year award in 2006 ,2007 and 2009 in Trinidad and was one of the 10 finalists on all occasions. 
• Recipient of the Humming Bird Gold Medal for contributions to cricket in 2007
• Voted Trinidad and Tobago cricketer of the year in 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 , 2009 and 2011.

First Published in the Trinidad Guardian Newspaper.

Sat, 11/12/2011 - 15:53