Cunaripo snares North East cricket title

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Cunaripo Sports was adjudged “Team of the Year” when the North East Zonal Council of the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board staged their 31st annual presentation of awards function on Saturday night at the Guaico Secondary School in Turure, Sangre Grande.

By virtue of winning the Senior Division of the North East Zone competition Cunaripo has been promoted to the Championship Division where they will campaign in the upcoming 2014 season. 

Among their top performers were Arvind Kumar who scored a season’s best 209 runs to cop the award for the highest individual score while teammate Devon Nelson emerged the highest scorer in the Sunday League with 296 runs to help Cunaripo share the title with Unique Sports after rain washed out the final. 

The outstanding performers were celebrated at Saturday’s gala function which was attended by president of the TT Cricket Board Azim Bassarath who delivered the feature address; CEO of the Sangre Grande Regional Corporation Jameer Amarall, newly elected president of the TT Umpires and Scorers Association Parasram Singh, Sukesh Maniam, TTCB treasurer; executive member Tarandath Sammy, national coach in charge of youth development Kelvin Williams, and outgoing secretary of the Zone John Lewis. 

Chairman of the North-East Zonal Council is Arjoon Ramlal, the general secretary of the TTCB who declared that 2013 was a very successful one for the sport and despite the inclement weather, the zone was still capable of completing all their major competitions. 

He highlighted the performance of “Club of the Year” Cunaripo Sports who gained promotion and the success of the Cunaripo Presbyterian School which captured the Primary Schools Championship in emphatic fashion. 

Ramlal also said the zone was proud that three of their players Amrit Kistow (Under-15), Amrish Rampersad (Under-17) and Brandon Ramdial (Under-19) all graduated to selection on the national team. 

The zone chairman said his executive is eagerly looking forward to the 2014 season and thanked his administrators for their yeoman service which has resulted in creating more opportunities for the young men and women of the locality to excel at their sport of choice. 

In his feature address Bassarath paid tribute to Ramlal and the entire North East Zone for setting the bar high in terms of moving the development of the sport of cricket and for establishing themselves as a pillar of support for the TTCB. 

He said other zones would do well to learn from the North-East Zonal Council as their successes of the last season could attest to their dedication and hard work which is bearing rich fruits and augers well for the future. 

Bassarath, who was recently re-elected for a third term of office outlined the extended run of success of the national cricket team along with other outstanding achievements by the age group and women’s teams in regional competitions. 

He declared that cricket is alive and well and will continue to attract the young children of the nation seeking an alternative path to crime and drugs despite the unfair criticism levelled at the board and efforts to starve it of funds. 

Bassarath again appealed for all major stakeholders in cricket to pull together for the benefit of the sport and to put aside all differences and animosity which may have been generated by the lead-up to the national executive elections of October 26 which the Movement for Change won. 

North East Honour Roll 

Senior Division: 1 Cunaripo Sports; 2 Unique Sports; 3 Youth Sports 

Most Runs: Ravi Khan 402 (8 Inns, ave 67.0) Youth Sports 

Most Wickets: Avind Kumar 43 vs Mixtures, Cunaripo Sports 

Most Wickets: Gavin DeVerteuil, 151.5-18-576-43, Mixtures 

Best Bowling: Aleem Gafoor, Unique Sports 21.2-11-67-11 

Best Wicketkeeper: Hyron Baptiste, Unique Sports, 20 dismissals 

Best Allrounder: Gavin DeVerteuil , Mixtures, 213 runs/43 wkts 

Division One

1. Dreadnought; 2 Sunrisers; 3 Fishing Pond 

Most Runs: Brendon De La Rosa 443 (9 Inns, ave 63.20) Dreadnoughts 

Highest Score: Daniel Robinson, Juniors, 137 n.o., vs Rovers 

Most Wickets: Wendell Alleyne, EBG, 156-16-624-50 

Best Bowling: Brian Edwards, Dreadnoughts, 41-9-122-16 (Ave 7.63) 

Best Allrounder: Wendell Alleyne, EBG, 331 runs/50 wkts 

Special Awards: Anisa Mohammed, Alisa Mohammed, Melissa Sandy (Female Cricketers) 

Academic Awards: Brandon Ramdial, Kevin Persad, Amrsh Rampersad 

Coach of the Year: Ravi Motilal 

Umpire of the Year: Prudiencio Cedeno 

Administrator of the Year: Sunil Rampersad 

Statistician of the Year: Hasra Rampersad 

Club of the Year: Cunaripo Sports Club 

Courts National T20: Clevon Vialva 

Five Male Cricketers of the Year

Gavin DeVerteuil, Mixtures, 253 runs/50 wkts 

Ricardo Maikoo, Unique Sports, 479 runs/34 wkts 

Wendell Alleyne, Fishing Pond EBG, 372 runs/58 wkts 

Brendon De La Rosa, Dreadnoughts, 638 runs/44 wkts 

Ravi Khan, Youth Sports, 804 runs/29 wkts 

Cricketer of the Year: Ravi Khan 

Youth Awards

Under-13: Dillon Partap (Cunaripo Presbyterian School) 

Under-15: Kristoff Lewis (Hillview College) 

Under-17: Amrish Rampersad (Hillview College) 

Under-19: Warren Phillip (Matura High) 

Primary School Cricketers of the Year: 

Male: Andy Mahase, Cunaripo Presbyterian 

Female: Ria Boodram, Cunaripo Presbyterian 

National Team Selectees

Under-15: Amrit Kistow 

Under-17: Amrish Rampersad Under-19: Brandon Ramdial 

Youth Cricketer of the Year: Amrit Kistow 

Rookie of the Year: Wesley Romero, Youth Sports, 209 runs 


Rajiv Singh, Unique 

Jevon Fortune, Dreadnoughts 

Amrish Rampersad, Youth Sports 

Senior Division (Reserve Team)

All Stars Sports Club 

Most Runs: Davan Willie, All Stars, 275 (7 inns, ave 45.83) 

Highest Score: Davan Willie, All Stars, 163 n.o. vs Montgomery 

Best Bowlers: Vikash Maraj , Cunaripo sports, 27.2-9-46-10 

Sunday League

Cunaripo Sports, Unique Sports, joint champions 

Most runs: Devon Nelson, Cunaripo Sports, 296 

Highest score: Devon Nelson, Cunaripo sports, 94 vs Swansea 

Most Wickets: Deonarine Ramlochan, All Stars, 16 (26.4-4-79-16) 

T20 Competition

Sunriders; 2 All Stars 

Most Runs: Clevon Vialva, Sunrisers, 254 

Highest Score: Kevin Robinson, Fishing Pond EBG, 132 

Most Wickets: Clevon Vialva, Sunrisers, 11 

Man of the Match (Final): Wesley Thomas, Sunrisers, 38 runs/ 4-0-9-4

First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Mon, 12/16/2013 - 05:03