Crushers claim first Parish League title

Antigua Observer article.

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Pigotts Crushers are winners of the first Parish League cricket title for 2014, defeating John Hughes by four wickets when they clashed in the finals of Antigua Commercial Bank (ACB)/Sir Curtly Ambrose One Day Competition in Pigotts on Sunday.

Batting first, John Hughes posted a total of 132 for nine with a top knock of 58 coming from P Francis.

Bowling for the victors, E Francis picked-up four wickets for 92 runs. Francis was the only bowler of note.

Pigotts, in reply, reached 138 for six. They were led by Brandon Jno Baptiste who topped the batting with 60 runs while Kerry Jeremy contributed with 32 runs. Francis did well with the ball for John Hughes, claiming four wickets for 50 runs.

Pigotts’ success continued in the Antigua Commercial Bank/Sir Richie Richardson Limited Overs Competition over the weekend when they defeated Harney Motors Mahico by 83 runs on Saturday.

Mahico, however, rebounded on Sunday to defeat Freetown by 43 runs.

Batting first, Mahico made 139 all out with Dean Evanson top scoring with 71 runs. Keif Baltimore (3/24), Stanley Desilva (3/16) and Tyson Nathaniel (3/48) all had good bowling spells for the losers.

Freetown in reply, reached 96 all out. Huntley James topped scored with 33 runs.

In a winning effort, D’andre Forde took 3 for 10, Jamal Shillingford bagged two for two and Vernon Dowdy took two for 27.

In other matches on Sunday, St Paul’s defeated Seaton’s by five wickets and Urlings defeated Swetes by 33 runs.

First Published In The Antigua Observer.

Tue, 04/29/2014 - 03:32