Crawford returned unopposed as DCU&SA

Kaieteur News article.

Demerara, Guyana - Shannon Crawford was re-elected unopposed as president of the Demerara Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association (DCU&SA) when the body held its Annual General Meeting on Sunday last at the Clerical and Commercial Workers Union (CCWU).

Nigel Duguid was retained as the vice president while Nolan Hawke will serve as the secretary. Eddie Nicholls is the treasurer and Arleigh Rutherford the assistant secretary treasurer.

Zaheer Mohamed was elected the Public Relations Officer while the committee members are Ryan Banwari, Javed Persaud, Chetnarine Persaud and Ava Baker.

Speaking after the elections Crawford said that one of the main objectives for 2014 is to strengthen the sub associations which are Upper Demerara, East Coast Demerara, West Demerara and Georgetown adding that Upper Demerara and West Demerara are facing some challenges. He stated that efforts will be made to give the umpires in Upper Demerara more exposure since not much cricket is being played there.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Tue, 01/14/2014 - 03:41