Clarke Road try for league progress

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - With the Sunday League 50-over trophy in the bag, First Citizens Clarke Road United will now turn their attention to the National League Premier Division two-day title.

The two-day league competition continues this weekend with Clarke Road, who were runners up to PowerGen last year, hosting CLICO Preysal at Wilson Road in Debe starting at 10 a.m. today and continuing from 9:30 a.m. tomorrow.

Clarke Road celebrated winning their first Sunday League title in over a decade when they beat Queen’s Park Cricket Club by 72 runs on Wednesday.

Their performances so far in the two-day league however have not been as dominant.

Ranked seventh (38 points, one win, one loss, one draw) heading into the fourth round of matches, Clarke Road, who are 36 points behind leaders Merry Boys (74 points), will be looking to move up the 12-team standings, and with the return of West Indies Under-19 batsman Nicholas Pooran to their line-up and the good form of Ryan Ramdass and Ranga Lachana, they will have a good chance of overcoming eighth placed Preysal.

Elsewhere, the leaders Merry Boys host Cladrac Club at Diego Martin Recreation Ground this weekend.

Merry Boys will however be without Ricky Jaipaul who grabbed seven wickets in their win over Munroe Road last weekend.

The spinner was called up to the Trinidad and Tobago team for their Regional Four-Day match against Barbados in Barbados which started yesterday.

In another big match this weekend, third placed PowerGen, who scrapped to a draw against Queen’s Park in the previous round which was affected by rain,  face fourth placed Alescon Comets at the National Cricket Centre in Balmain Couva.

The Parkites, who are second on the standings just eight points behind Merry Boys, host sixth placed Esmeralda (45 points) at Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain.

All matches bowl off at 10 a.m. today and continue from 9:30 a.m. tomorrow.

National League fixtures

Premier Division

QPCC vs Esmeralda Sports Club, Queen’s Park Oval 

First Citizens Clarke Road vs CLICO Preysal, Wilson Road

Moosai Sports vs Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports, Honeymoon Park

Merry Boys vs Caldrac Club, Diego Martin Recreation Ground

Jenexcon Tableland vs 

Munroe Road Cricket Club, 

Tableland Alescon Comets vs PowerGen Sports, 

National Cricket Centre         

Premier Division standings

Teams                          P W L D Pts

1. Merry Boys           3 3 0 0 74

2. QPCC                      3 2 0 1 66

3. PowerGen             3 2 0 1 52

4. Comets                   3 2 1 0 52

5. Munroe Road       3 2 1 0 49

6. Esmeralda             3 1 1 1 45

7. Clarke Road           3 1 1 1 38

8. Preysal                   3 0 2 1 23

9. Bamboo                 3 0 2 1 20

10. Caldrac               3 0 1 1 20

11. Tableland           3 0 2 0 18

12. Moosai               3 0 2 1 14

Note: The result of the Tableland vs Caldrac Round Two match will be decided by the TTCB disciplinary committee.     

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Fri, 03/21/2014 - 19:42