Chattergoon to lead Berbice

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - In the absence of national skipper Veerasammy Permaul, along with Narsingh Deonarine and Assad Fudadin who are all away on West Indies ‘A’ team duties in India, the Berbice Cricket Board Senior Selection Committee has named discarded national opener Sewnarine Chattergoon the captain of the Inter-county team for this year’s Guyana Cricket Board/Pepsi Senior 50 overs tournament.

That tournament got underway yesterday, with defending champions Demerara starting in an ominous mode, disposing of Essequibo by 124 runs at the Georgetown Cricket Club ground, thanks to Christopher Barnwell’s pugnacious ton.

The Berbicians, who lost the said title to Demerara last year, were in training for this tournament since September 10 and following a practice game at the Albion Community Centre ground, yesterday, declared their 14 man squad which will aim to regain the title.

Guyana and West Indies leg spinner Devendra Bishoo was named as Chattergoon’s deputy, while the squad also includes Shimron Hetmyer and Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, two national Under-19 players who were selected by the West Indies for their squad which will oppose Bangladesh in a seven match series right here in Guyana next month.

The hard hitting Jonathan Foo, Kandasammy Surujnarine and Anthony Bramble along with Rajiv Ivan and Anthony D’Andrade are the players who will lend support to the quartet mentioned above, with added support from Eon Hooper, Joemal La Fleur and Devon Clements.

The full team which will journey to the capital city to engage Essequibo in their first match on Tuesday reads: Sewnarine Chattergoon, Devendra Bishoo, Rajiv Ivan, Jonathan Foo, Shimron Hetmyer, Eon Hooper, Anthony Bramble, Kandasammy Surujnarine, Keon Joseph, Anthony D’Andrade, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Romario Shepherd-DeJonge, Devon Clements and Joemal LaFleur.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Sat, 09/21/2013 - 18:58