Chanderpaul, Camobelle expected to dominate NSC sports award ceremony billed for this evening

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Top sportsmen and women, administrators and journalists will be recognised for their achievements and contributions to sport during 2013, when the National Sports Commission (NSC) stages its annual awards ceremony this evening.

The ceremony will start at 19:00h and will be hosted at the National Cultural Centre, where His Excellency president Donald Ramotar is expected to deliver feature remarks. Sport Minister Dr Frank Anthony, Director of Sport Neil Kumar and Permanent Secretary Alfred King are also slated to address the gathering.

West Indies players, veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul and all-rounder Shemaine Campbelle are the senior Sportsman and Woman-of-the-Year 2013, after the panel of judges assembled by the NSC last month elected the top performers of the past year.

The left-handed Chanderpaul was the Caribbean’s highest Test run-scorer in the format last year, notching up 523 runs from seven games at an average of 58.1 with two centuries (108 versus Zimbabwe and 122 not out against New Zealand).

Chanderpaul gained seven votes from a panel of 14, while powerlifter Winston Frank Stoby copped five votes in the second round of voting to lift the runner-up Sportsman-of-the-Year accolade.

During the period under review, Stoby made an unsuccessful attempt at defending his world title against a lifter four years his junior, but after competing in the 74kg Masters 2 Category, he set a new Deadlift World Record (WR) with another impressive performance at the 31st World Masters Men’s Powerlifting Championships in Orlando, Florida.

Stoby shattered his old Deadlift World Record of 260kg achieved in 2012 in Texas with a new record of 277.5kg to win the gold medal, but had to settle for second overall to the U.S.A.’s Gregory Page.

During last year, he also participated as a member of the Guyana team that successfully defended their Open title , capturing the gold medal in his weight class.

On the distaff side, Campbelle, who was nominated prior to the voting process for that category, was again outstanding on the international circuit for the regional side.

After the first round of voting, Campbelle got four votes, while Guyana national women’s hockey goalkeeper Alysa Xavier captured five.

Last year’s Sportswoman-of-the-Year, Nicolette Fernandes, gained two votes and athletics queen Alika Morgan three votes, were the other nominees.

However, with none of the candidates securing the stipulated 50 per cent of  votes, a second round of voting was required.

During this round, Campbelle got 10 votes, while Xavier received four. Xavier was the runner-up Sportswoman-of-the-Year,

Table-tennis player Chelsea Edghill was voted junior sportswoman-of-the-year with CARIFTA 1500 metres gold medalist Cassie George getting 13 votes in the second round of voting for the runner-up junior sportswoman.

The exciting young athlete, CARIFTA 400 metres bronze medalists Jason Yaw captured eight votes for junior Sportsman-of-the-Year, with table tennis player Shemar Britton  the runner-up junior sportsman.

Boxing coach Terrence Pool with seven votes won the Coach-of-the-Year accolade.

The Guyana Table Tennis Association got the nod for Sports Association-of-the-year, capturing seven votes, while the Guyana Amateur Boxing Association was voted Most Improved Association, gaining 12 votes.

Manager of the 2013 CARIFTA Games team Amanda Hermonstine and Guyana Table Tennis Association President Godfrey Munroe won the Female and Male Sport Personality awards respectively, while the Guyana Senior Squash Team was voted Team-of-the-Year.

Gibran Sarfaraz won the Special Award for Persons with disability.

Guyana Times/TVG/RGI’s Reporter/News Anchor, Avenash Ramzan, was the popular choice for Sports Journalist-of-the-Year (Non-Print) for the third year in succession, copping nine of the available 13 votes.

Emmerson Campbell of Stabroek News secured eight votes to Guyana Chronicle’s Calvin Roberts four in a two-way race for the Sports Journalist-of-the-Year (Print) after the first round did not produce a clear winner.

For the third year running, Stabroek News’ Orlando Charles was a favourite for the Sports Photographer-of-the-Year, securing 10 votes.

The judging panel comprised NSC Chairman Conrad Plummer, Director of Sport Neil Kumar, Ian McDonald, Carlton Joao, Steve Ninvalle, Sharda Veeren-Chand, Justice Cecil Kennard, Sonia Roberts, Amanda Hermonstine, Claude David, Rajiv Bisnauth, Emmerson Campbell, Aletha Grant-Charles and Mike DaSilva.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Fri, 03/28/2014 - 01:35