Champs name strong team for CT20

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC -- Trinidad & Tobago have named a strong 14-man squad for the defence of their title in the West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 tournament.


The T&T Cricket Board announced the 14-member squad on Thursday under the leadership of West Indies wicketkeeper/batsman Denesh Ramdin. Former captain Daren Ganga has been dropped from the team to take part in the event, beginning on January 9 in Antigua.

Dudnath Ramkessoon, chairman of the National Selection Panel, said that Ganga could not fit into the current team set-up.

“After he resigned as captain, we looked at the position where Daren can fit into this team and it was difficult to place him in. He has served us well, but it is very difficult to offer him a place on the team at this time,” said Ramkessoon.

Ganga finished second in the CT20 averages in this year’s tournament and led the regional champions to the Champions League Twenty20 in India. He had no comment to make on his exclusion from the side.

Left-arm spinner Dave Mohammed and fast bowler Shannon Gabriel, a recent graduate of the Sagicor High Performance Centre, have also failed to make the final cut.
Ramkessoon said the T&T side is a very strong one and he expects them to do well.

“On paper, we have a very strong team and if you look carefully at the set-up, we are one of the best teams in the Caribbean,” he said. “Being the strongest team does not win you the title automatically however. You have to pull together and focus on the job at hand.”

T&T have been drawn with Guyana, Leeward Islands and Windward Islands in Group-A of the CT20.

Squad: Denesh Ramdin (captain), Samuel Badree, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Kevon Cooper, Rayad Emrit, Sherwin Ganga, Justin Guillen, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Keiron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Lendl Simmons

Sat, 12/10/2011 - 17:43