CCC turn to youth for CT20

Bridgetown, Barbados -- Three promising, young players are set to make their Caribbean Twenty20 debuts for the Combined Campuses & Colleges when the tournament is contested next month.

Jamaicans Jason Dawes and Akeem Dewar, two former West Indies Under-19 players, as well as Barbadian all-rounder Kyle Mayers, a current West Indies Under-19 player, have been named in the 14-member squad that will take part in the tournament to be staged in Antigua and Barbados from January 9.

Both fast bowler Dawes and leg-spinner Dewar have played at the senior regional level previously.

Dawes has played nine first-class matches for Jamaica and has also represented the CCC in the Regional Super50 tournament, while Dewar has played for West Indies Under-19 and CCC in the RS50.

Mayers, too, has played for CCC previously, appearing in three RS50 matches last October in Guyana.

There is one other newcomer in the side. He is the little-known Jamaican Herman Henry, a student at The Mico University College.

Henry was a member of the squad during the RS50, but did not play. He was discovered through the intercollegiate competition organised by the University of the West Indies, and impressed with his fast-medium bowling and lower-order batting.

The side also contains Jason Holder and Kevin McClean, two graduates of the West Indies High Performance Centre, as well as overlooked Barbados batsman Kyle Hope and Chadwick Walton, who has been displaced from the Jamaica national side by West Indies wicketkeeper/batsman Carlton Baugh.

Romel Currency will again lead the side with regular faces like the spin twins Ryan Austin and Kavesh Kantasingh part of the squad, along with player/coach Floyd Reifer.

CCC has been drawn in Group B of the tournament with Jamaica, Sussex Sharks, Netherlands and co-hosts Barbados. They open the tournament against the Jamaicans on January 10 at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.

Squad: Romel Currency (captain), Ryan Austin, Jason Dawes, Akeem Dewar, Herman Henry, Jason Holder, Kyle Hope, Kavesh Kantasingh, Kyle Mayers, Kevin McClean, Yannick Ottley, Floyd Reifer, Chadwick Walton, Ryan Wiggins.

Fri, 12/23/2011 - 01:55