Carter spurs St. Andrew Rhythm to final of UWI Winners Take It All T20 tourney

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - Barbados and West Indies 'A' team batting all-rounder Jonathan Carter hit a brisk 49 to help St. Andrew Rhythm defeat St. Lucy Pirates and earn a place in the final of the Winners Take It All four-team UWI Inter-Parish Twenty20 competition.

In the first semi-final match reduced to a 15-over-a-side because of rain at 3Ws Oval on Monday night, St. Andrew Rhythm triumphed by seven runs.

After winning the toss, St. Andrew scored 98 for six off 15 overs. Left-hander Carter, the St. Andrew captain, struck four fours and two sixes in his 36-ball knock as an opener.

Wicket-keeper Anton Lucas-Jones was the only other double-figure contributor with 16 not out off ten deliveries.

Left-arm spinner Kemar Stanford took three for 11 off three overs.

St. Lucy Pirates were restricted to 91 for six.

Richard Greaves topscored with 21 off 28 balls and Reydon Toppin made 19 not out off 21 balls.

Leg-spinning all-rounder Larando Best picked up two for 12 and pacer Akeem Jordan, two for 22 - both off three overs.

The other semi-final brings together St. Michael Merchants and St. John Crusaders on Tuesday night with the final slated for Thursday.


St.  Andrew Rhythm - Jonathan Carter, Kofie Hurdle, Aubrey Towler, Carleon Brome, Akeem Jordan, Ashayne Haynes, Larando Best, Kemar Small, Alex Bridgeman, Denis Murray, Anton Lucas-Jones.

St. Lucy Pirates - Brian Corbin, Larry Babb, Reydon Toppin, Khalid Springer, Richard Greaves, Mario Boyce, Kemar Stanford, Jed Yearwood, Kirk Brome, Jamar Yearwood, Zaire McAllister.



K. Hurdle c Greaves b Jed Yearwood              3    (11 balls)

*J. Carter Springer b Stanford                     49    (36 balls, 4x4, 2x6)

A. Towler run out                                         5    (8 balls)

L. Best lbw b Stanford                                  4    (8 balls) 

C. Brome c Babb b Stanford                          1     (7 balls)

+A. Lucas-Jones not out                              16   (10 balls)

A. Bridgeman st Yearwood b Babb                  2    (3 balls)

A. Jordan not out                                          7   (8 balls)

Extras (b1, w9, nb1)                                     11

TOTAL (6 wks, 15 overs)                               98

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-47, 3-70, 4-73, 5-74, 6-77.

Did not bat: A. Haynes, K. Small, D. Murray.

Bowling: Jed Yearwood 3-0-15-1, Springer 3-0-19-0, Brome 3-0-29-0, Stanford 3-0-11-3, Babb 3-0-23-1.


R. Greaves c Carter b Best                             21    (28 balls, 1x4) 

M. Boyce c Haynes b Small                              4     (4 balls)

Jed Yearwood c wk Lucas-Jones b Bridgeman   11    (17 balls) 

R. Toppin not out                                          19    (21 balls)

L. Babb lbw b Best                                         2     (3 balls)

B. Corbin b Jordan                                         8     (12 balls)

K. Springer b Jordan                                      2     (4 balls)

Jamar Yearwood not out                                 6    (2 balls, 1x6) 

Extras (b1, lb3, w13, nb1)                            18

TOTAL (6 wks, 15 overs)                               91 

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-50, 3-51, 4-56, 5-77, 6-85.

Did not bat: K. Brome, Z. McAllister, K. Stanford.

Bowling: Bridgeman 3-0-17-1, Small 2-0-14-1, Brome 1-0-7-0, Carter 3-0-15-0, Best 3-0-12-2, Jordan 3-0-22-2.

Result: St. Andrew Rhythm won by 7 runs.

Toss: St. Andrew Rhythm.

Umpires: Earl Collymore, Paul Sivers. 

Duckworth-Lewis Manager: Stephen Proverbs.

Scorer: Lee-Ann Johnson.

First Published On

Tue, 12/10/2013 - 06:45