Caribbean singlewicket tournament returns

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - The Second Annual Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament, which is promoted by Glory Entertainment Television, will take place on June 14 at UWI SPEC in St Augustine.

The date for the 2014 event was confirmed by the promoters who said the format of this year’s competition will be unchanged from the previous edition with 12 specially invited all-rounders from across the region competing against each other to determine who is the best.

Last year’s winner Dwayne Smith confirmed that he will be coming back to try and defend his title. 

Smith defeated Guyana’s Christopher Barnwell in the 2013 final at UWI SPEC in a tournament that also featured Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Kevon Cooper, Lendl Simmons and Jason Holder.

The final list of invitees will be announced at the tournament launch early next month. The newly-formed Singlewicket Cricket Foundation will be organising the tournament with interim chairman William Wallace again serving as the tournament director.

The promoters have expressed significant confidence in the UWI SPEC team to ensure a high standard of readiness of the playing area and improvement in seating accommodation.

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Mon, 04/14/2014 - 19:52