Caldrac upsets defending champions Powergen

Trinidad Guardian article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Barbadian batsman Sharmarh Brooks struck 70 yesterday to help Caldrac to a 15-run win over defending T&T Cricket Board premier division T20 champions Powergen at California.

Right-handed Brooks struck two fours and five sixes in his 42-ball knock, taking Caldrac to 174/6 in their 20 overs. Mark Deyal (36) and Allen Laurent (22) made valuable contributions to the total. Bowling for Powergen, Ancil Bhagan and Vaaroon Samaroo took 2/22 and 2/24 respectively.

In reply, national batsman Jason Mohammed top scored with 61 but Powergen could only muster 159/7. Royston Crandon (3/24) and Ancil Nedd (3/33) grabbed three scalps apiece to contain the Powergen batsmen.

At the Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain, national players Darren Bravo (62) and Akeal Hosein (3/8) were in fine form yesterday for Queen’s Park, guiding the team to a 65-run win over Alescon Comets.

National players yesterday used the T20 matches as a warm-up for T&T’s regional four-day match against the Windward Islands, which bowls off on Saturday at the Queen’s Park Oval.


At Queen’s Park Oval: QPCC 162/5 (Darren Bravo 62, Petrock Nicholas 33, Richard Kelly 2/35, Rishi Ramgoolie 2/35) vs Alescon Comets 97/9 (Stephan Wharwood 30, Kadesh Samlalsingh 20, Akeal Hosein 3/8, Daron Cruickshank 2/11) QPCC won by 65 runs

At Preysal: Esmeralda 159/8 (Teshaun Castro 53, Dwight Joseph 30, Narsingh Deonarine 3/27, Uthman Muhummud 3/31) vs Preysal 98 (17.4 overs) (Deonarine 28, Eugene La Fleur 27, Kerwin Sirju 3/18, Rishard Harris 2/24) Esmeralda won by 61 runs

At California: Caldrac 174/6 (Sharmarh Brooks 70, Mark Deyal 36, Allen Laurent 22, Ancil Bhagan 2/22, Vaaroon Samaroo 2/24) vs Powergen 159/7 (Jason Mohammed 61, Gregory Mahabir 23, Royston Crandon 3/24, Ancil Nedd 3/33) Caldrac won by 15 runs

At Munroe Road: Munroe Road 78 (16.5 overs) (Michael Harry 25, Terrance Hinds 4/15, Jahron Alfred 2/16) vs Moosai 81/7 (19 overs) (Wasim Haslim 31, Lendl Simmons 18, Kyle Marshall 3/10) Moosai won by three wickets

At Diego Martin: Bamboo 129/9 (Yannic Cariah 59, Lyndell Nelson 20, Ricky Jaipaul 4/16, Javon Searles 4/31) vs Merry Boys 131/2 (17.1 overs) (Mario Belcon 45, Aneil Kanhai 33 no) Merry Boys won by eight wickets

At Tableland: (18-over match) Clarke Road 112 (18 overs) (Yannick Ottley 27, Daniel St Clair 3/25, Amir Khan 2/19) vs Tableland 114/5 (14 overs) (Steven Taylor 47, Lincoln Roberts 27, Ottley 2/25, Ranga Lachana 2/26) Tableland won by five wickets 

First Published In The Trinidad Guardian.

Thu, 04/17/2014 - 03:04