Caldrac earn first innings against Merry Boys

Trinidad & Tobago Newsday article.

PORT OF SPAIN, TRINIDAD - A well woven hat-trick of wickets from spinner Dane Teelucksingh (3/17) handed Caldrac SC precious first innings points against eighth placed MerryBoys as the tenth leg of the TTCB National Premier League continued in California, yesterday.

Batting first, the seventh placed Caldrac SC were dismissed for a somewhat low score of 115 in 34.4 overs. Mark Deyal top scored with 29 while Franklyn Rouse chipped in with 25. Javed Ramdhanie did most of the damage bagging 5/30 while Emile Rajah (2/20) and Vashtri Singh (2/23) also contributed. 

In reply, MerryBoys were whittled away for a paltry 77 after just 21 overs. Teelucksingh dismantled the batting line-up with his spinning hat-trick while Ancil Nedd took 3/18 and Allan Laurent 3/22. Mario Belcon was their best batsman with his knock of 23. This result handed Caldrac SC a first innings lead of 38 runs. 

However, Caldrac returned to the crease and were again dismissed for 127 after 33.1 overs, giving them an overall lead of 165 runs. Royston Crandon top scored with 30 while both Ramdhanie and Atiba Allert bagged 3/31 each. At the close of play yesterday, MerryBoys stood at 10 without loss. 

In Central, defending champions but fourth placed Queen’s Park Cricket Club, declared after amassing a hefty 348 for eight. Captain Justin Guillen led the charge with his knock of 64 while Adrian Barath slammed 54 and Jonathan Augustus 52. Kerwyn Sirju was the pick of the bowlers as he snatched 5/80 with Jehron Alfred taking 2/41. 

In their turn at the crease, ninth placed Esmeralda SC closed the day on a fair total of 144 for the loss of five. Trevon Griffith missed out in his half-century (49) while Anthony D’Andrade got to 38. Khiry Pierre was the best bowler finishing with figures of 3/56 and Jesse Bootan 2/26. 

Meanwhile, table leaders PowerGen closed the first day in a comfortable position against Alescon Comets. Batting first, the Penal-based team were led to 207 by a century (100) from Gregory Mahabir. Richard Kelly bagged 4/55 while Ancil Bhagan took 4/60. 

At the close of play, Comets stood at a shaky 97 for the loss of seven with Kavesh Kantasingh taking three wickets for 43 runs. 

Other Results:

FCB CLARKE ROAD 257/8 dec - Ryan Ramdass 64, Shazan Babwah, 39, Nicholas Pooran 39, Anthony Bramble 25, Deon Ferrier 2/49, Kellon Carmichael 2/59, Malcolm Ramlogan 2/79 vs HKL ARANGUEZ 50/4 - Jonathan Cabralis 16, Clevon Khellawan 2/13 

SEENATH’S AUTO BAMBOO 70 - Terrence Hinds 23, Richard Ali 20, Amir Khan 4/7, Mervyn Dillon 3/12 vs MOOSAI SC 66/9 - Amir Khan 24 no, Rishaard Harris 4/12 


First Published In The Trinidad & Tobago Newsday.

Sun, 05/05/2013 - 05:06