CAH Ramp lift GAIA title with seven-run win over Fire Service

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - CAH Ramp defeated Barbados Fire Service (BFS) by seven runs with two balls remaining to capture the 2013 Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) tapeball competition.

In the final at Rices on Friday night, CAH Ramp scored 121 for eight off 20 overs after winning the toss.

Shayne Moseley, the Carlton all-rounder, who was a member of the champion Barbados Under-19 three-day team in the regional Youth tournament at home last year, topscored with 27.

Randy Thomas, a former Barbados first-class batsman and now a veteran LIME player, made 28.

BFS, a relatively strong team with seasoned Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) players, were bowled out for 114 in 19.4 overs.

All-rounder Larando Best, who has played for BDFSP and Carlton in major BCA competitions, made 34, while former YMPC batsman Lonsdale Blake contributed 28.

Spinner Oswell Hoyte grabbed four for 31 and earned the Player-of-the-Match award.

Courtesy Garage took third place with a one-wicket win over F.A.S.T Inc on Thursday night.

It was a wonderful tournament for Shayne Moseley, a nephew of Hallam Moseley, a fast bowler who played first-class cricket for Barbados as well as Somerset County Club in England. A left-hand batsman and right-am pacer, Shayne Moseley was named Player-of-the-Series and also won the award for the Player with Most Runs (218).

Summarized scores:

FINAL - CAH Ramp beat Barbados Fire Service by seven runs.

CAH Ramp 121-8 (20 overs) (Shayne Moseley 27, Randy Thomas 26, J. Straker 12, A. Holder 10; B. Shepherd 2-12, L. Best 2-28).

Fire Service 114 all out (19.4 overs) (Larando Best 34, Lonsdale Blake 28, B. Shepherd 16; Oswell Hoyte 4-31).

Player of the Match: Oswell Hoyte, CAH Ramp.

Adjudicators: Callitos Lopez, Corey Clarke, Shawn “Gunsmoke” Brathwaite.

Umpires: Mark Coppin, Lawson Cummins.

Scorer: Leslay Prescod.

Toss: CAH Ramp.



Courtesy Garage beat F.A.S.T Inc by one wicket.

F.A.S.T Inc 105-2 (20 overs) (R. Waithe 47 not out, R. Arthur 25 not out, J. Holder 12).

Courtesy Garage 106-9 (18.2 overs) (Kevin Patterson 30; R. Arthur 3-12, K. Matthews 3-21).

Player of the Match: Kevin Patterson.

Adjudicator: Callitos Lopez.

Umpires: Garnet Farrell, Lester Millington.

Scorer: Leslay Prescod.

Toss: F.A.S.T Inc.



Player with the Most runs: Shayne Moseley (CAH Ramp) 218.

Player with the Most wickets: Oswell Hoyte (CAH Ramp) 17. 

Player with the most Dismissals: Randy Thomas (CAH Ramp) 19. 

Player of the Series: Shayne Moseley (CAH Ramp)

First Published On

Sat, 11/30/2013 - 13:47