Bravo brothers shine in Windies win


BIRMINGHAM, England – West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 17 runs in a warm-up match Tuesday to sign-off their preparations for the Champions Trophy .

West Indian bowlers struck at regular intervals to bowl out Sri Lanka for 280 runs at Edgbaston after the Caribbean side posted a total of 297 runs for the loss of six wickets.

Captain Dwayne Bravo led the bowling with a match-best 3 for 26 from his five overs after half centuries from Johnson Charles, Darren Bravo and Ramnaresh Sarwan setup the West Indies total.

Sunil Narine and Ravi Rampaul picked up two for 26 and two for 46 respectively.

Batting first, openers Chris Gayle and Charles took little time to get into action with an 87-run first wicket partnership in just 12 overs.

But a subdued Gayle who scored 22 was outscored by Charles who hit 58 runs including nine boundaries.

At 122 for three, Sarwan and Darren Bravo stitched a valuable partnership to take West Indies to a respectable total.

Sarwan (55) and Bravo (71) both left the field retired hurt to allow the other batsmen to spend some time at the crease.

A 73-run ninth-wicket stand between Dilhara Lokuhettige and Nuwan Kulasekara had put Sri Lanka in sight of victory before succumbing to Bravo’s mopping up  operation.

Kumar Sangakkara top-scored with 56 runs, while the rest of the batsmen failed to capitalise on their starts.

The lower order managed to stretch the game with Kulasekara and Lokuhettige scoring 40 and 42 respectively

Summary Scores:

WEST INDIES 297 for six off 50 overs (Darren Bravo 71, Johnson Charles 58, Ramnaresh Sarwan 55, Kieron Pollard 29 not out, Chris Gayle 22; Shaminda Eringa 2-38, Thisara Perera 2-48)

SRI LANKA 280 all out off 47 overs (Kumar Sangakkara 56, Dilhara Lokuhettige 42, Nuwan Kulasekara 40 not out, Mahela Jayawardene 30; Dwayne Bravo 3-26, Sunil Narine 2-26, Ravi Rampaul 2-46)


C Gayle c & b T Perera 22

J Charles c wkp Sangakkara b Eranga 58

DM Bravo ret. out 71

M Samuels c Chandimal b Dilshan 18

R Sarwan ret. out 55

K Pollard not out 29

*DJ Bravo c Thirimanne b Perera 12

+D Ramdin lbw b Malinga 1

S Narine b Eranga 5

Ravi Rampaul not out  1

Extras (b2, lb5, w17, nb1) 25

TOTAL (6 wkts, 50 overs) 297

Fall of wickets: 1-87 (Gayle), 2-87 (Charles), 3-122 (Samuels), 3-248* (DM Bravo), 3-248* (Sarwan), 4-263 (DJ Bravo), 5-274 (Ramdin), 6-281 (Narine)

Bowling: Malinga 8-0-68-1, Kulasekara 9-1-67-0, Mathews 5-0-24-0, Perera 9-1-48-2, Eranga 7-0-38-2, Herath 5-0-26-0, Dilshan 7-1-19-1.


K Perera c Pollard b Rampaul  24

T Dilshan b Roach 15   

M Jayawardene run out 29

+K Sangakkara c wkp Ramdin b DJ Bravo 56

L Thirimanne c DJ Bravo b Narine 8

*A Mathews c DJ Bravo b Narine 4

J Mendis c wkp Ramdin b Best 17

T Perera c Roach b Rampaul 20

N Kulasekara not out  40

L Dilhara c Sarwan b DJ Bravo 42

R Herath c Pollard b DJ Bravo 3

Extras (b4, lb3, w13, nb2) 22

TOTAL (all out; 47 overs) 280

Fall of wickets: 1-39 (K Perera), 2-39 (Dilshan), 3-101 (Jayawardene), 4-124 (Thirimanne), 5-132 (Mathews), 6-166 (Mendis), 7-168 (Sangakkara), 8-196 (T Perera), 9-269 (Dilhara), 10-280 (Herath)

Bowling: Roach 8-0-71-1, Rampaul 8-0-46-2, Best 7-0-57-1, Narine 10-0-26-2, Samuels 7-0-40-0, Bravo 5-2-26-3, Pollard 2-0-7-0.

Result: West Indies won by 17 runs.

Toss: Sri Lanka.

Umpires: N Cook, P Hartley.


Tue, 06/04/2013 - 13:29