Black - Guyana’s confidence lifted

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Guyana’s Under-19 Manager David Black says beating the Windward Islands in round two in the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Under-19, Three-day tournament has lifted the players’ confidence ahead of their final round, beginning today.

The Guyanese are atop the table with 26.3 points will play Trinidad and Tobago, who sit at the bottom of the table on 9.6 points at the Georgetown Cricket Club ground.

The host and Leeward Islands played to a draw in the opening round but Black says the four- wicket win against the Windward Islands has motivated the players going into the final round.

“Mentally, it’s good for us,” Black told Guyana Times Sport at the conclusion of the squad training session on Tuesday.

“We will take the positives from this game into the final round and it gives the players confidence and self-belief that they can come out victorious,” Black said.

An outright victory can propel Guyana to their 13th title since their first in 1974.

Meanwhile, the Leeward Islands are in second position on 25.6 points follow by the Windward Islands 21.9 points, Jamaica 20.8 points and Barbados 12.6 points.

The other final- round matches will see Barbados challenge Leeward Islands at the Enmore Community Centre ground and defending champions Jamaica oppose the Windward Islands at the Guyana National Stadium. All games start at 10:00h and admission to the venues are free.

The full tournament, into its 47th edition, is the main scouting ground for the Region’s finest talent and dates back to 1968.

Most of the current West Indies players found their footing in the Regional Under-19 Tournament before going on to represent the West Indies in Test, One-Day International and Twenty20 International cricket.

Guyana have been dominant in the three-day format, winning the title on 12 occasions.

Jamaica captured the three-day title last year in St Kitts when they finished on 47.9 points to top the points table ahead of T&T, Guyana, Windwards, Barbados and Leewards.


Barbados: Joshua Drakes (captain), Chad Williams (vice captain), Leniko Boucher, Alex Fergusson, Lee-Germon Gaskin, Akil Greenidge, Keon Harding, Matthew Jones, Nicholas Kirton, Neil Persaud, Tarik Shorey, Shamar Springer, Jafari Toppin, Dikembe Wilson.

Guyana: Brian Sattaur (captain), Sharaz Ramcharran (vice captain), Balchan Baldeo, Daniel Basdeo, Tagenarine Chandrapaul, Shimron Hetmyer, Askay Homraj, Keon Morris, Keemo Paul, Steven Sankar, Kemol Sevory, Niall Smith, Daimon Waldron, Akel Wallace.

Jamaica: Ramaal Lewis (captain), Nicholas Walters (vice captain), Ryon Burnett, Shahid Crooks, Ramone Francis, Leroy Lugg, Abijai Mansingh, Odaine McCatty, Romaine Morris, Mark Parchment, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, George Walker, Malcolm Whyte.

Leeward Islands: Jeremiah Louis (captain), Alzarri Joseph (vice captain), Colin Archibald, Therone Bussue, Kacey Carty, Jaeel Clarke, Mohit Hingorani, Asharn Hodge, Shaquille Martina, Ross Powell, Kenrick Scott, Mrinal Wadwha, Dion West, Saeed Williams.

Trinidad and Tobago: Jeremy Solozano (captain), Amir Jangoo (vice captain), Jesse Bootan, Camillo Carimbocas, Brian Christmas, Tevin Jadoo, Brandon Jaggernauth, Justin Joseph, Keron Kanhai, Jemeel Maniram, Anderson Phillip, Samuel Roopnarine, Akil Seetal, Shane Smith.

Windward Islands: Roland Cato (captain), Kershaskie Jno Lewis (vice captain), Doran Edwards, Melvin Gordon, Kharmal Hamilton, Sherman Hooper, Deron Hypolite, Ryan John, Anson Latchman, Sherman Lewis, Obed McCoy, Craig Phillip, Gidron Pope, Tonis Simon.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Wed, 07/30/2014 - 05:37