Black Caps unchanged for T20 series

New Zealand Herald article.

Hamilton, New Zealand - The Black Caps have named an unchanged squad for the Twenty20 Series against the West Indies starting on Saturday in Auckland.

Of the 14 players in the current One Day International squad, Kane Williamson and Kyle Mills return to play HRV Cup matches.

New Zealand Cricket General Manager National Selection Bruce Edgar said the selectors wanted to take a consistent approach to the limited overs squads.

"We are keen to keep this group together but are mindful of the strong performances from a number of other players including Hamish Rutherford, and Anton Devcich.

"We are fortunate to be in a position to have a range of quality players to choose from."

The West Indies are current Twenty20 World Cup champions and have played the Black Caps on six occasions in the shortest form of the game - three of which ended in tied games.

Black Caps squad for Twenty20 Series v West Indies:

Brendon McCullum (c) - Otago Volts

Corey Anderson - Northern Knights

Martin Guptill - Auckland Aces

Mitchell McClenaghan - Auckland Aces

Nathan McCullum - Otago Volts

Adam Milne - Central Stags

Colin Munro - Auckland Aces

James Neesham - Otago Volts

Luke Ronchi - Wellington Firebirds 

Jesse Ryder - Otago Volts 

Tim Southee - Northern Knights 

Ross Taylor - Central Stags

First Published In The New Zealand Herald.

Mon, 01/06/2014 - 14:54