Bernard at helm for Jamaica in CT20

KINGSTON, Jamaica, CMC -- All-rounder Dave Bernard has been named to lead Jamaica in the West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 tournament, to be played next month in Antigua and Barbados.

The tall right-handed batsman and right-arm seamer missed the recent WICB Regional Super 50 tournament while recovering from knee surgery, but returns to the squad for the Twenty20 event.

Tamar Lambert, the regular captain of the national team which won the WICB first-class championship, has been overlooked for the second year in a row.

Powerful left-handed batsman Chris Gayle, who led the Jamaicans to the WICB’s Regional Super50 title in October, has not been named in the team. He is slated to represent Sydney Thunders franchise during the Big Bash Twenty20 tournament which will be contested in Australia in December and January.

Out-of-favour West Indies duo of batsman Xavier Marshall and fast bowler Andrew Richardson, two other members of the side that won the Regional Super50, have also missed out. They are two of the four reserves named by the National Selection Panel, along with Simon Jackson and Damion Jacobs.

Former youth players Andre McCarthy and Kennar Lewis are both set to make their debuts, after they were included in the 14-member squad.

Marlon Samuels, Danza Hyatt and Andre Russell are now on West Indies duty in India and have been included, along with Windies wicket-keeper Carlton Baugh.

Jamaica have been slotted into Group-B, where their opponents will be the Netherlands, Sussex, Combined Campuses & Colleges, and co-hosts Barbados.

The Caribbean T20 bowls off on January 9.

Squad: David Bernard (captain), Carlton Baugh, Nkrumah Bonner, Odean Brown, Sheldon Cotterrell, Shawn Findlay, Danza Hyatt, Kennar Lewis, Andre McCarthy, Horace Miller, Nikita Miller, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie

Sat, 12/10/2011 - 18:14