Bermine, RHTG&G clash in second semi-final tomorrow

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The second semi-final of the 2013 Universal DVD first division T20 cricket competition in Berbice is scheduled for Sunday at the Port Mourant ground on the Corentyne where Group A winner Bermine will tackle Group B runner-up Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets (RHTG&G).

The match will bowl off at 13:30 hours.

RHTG&G, even without their main batsman Assad Fudadin, who is presently in India campaigning for the West Indies A team, have a good all-round side at least on paper, and will certainly start as favourites.

Their batting will be spearheaded by the hard-hitting former Guyana wicketkeeper/batsman Delbert Hicks, national one-day all-rounder Rajiv Ivan, former Berbice wicketkeeper/batsman Jason Sinclair, former Guyana Under-19 batsman Dominique Rikki, all-rounder Clinton Pestano and Khemraj Mahadeo.

Their bowling attack will consist of a barrage of spinners led by off-spinners Ivan, Berbice player Eon Hooper and Shailendra Shameer, as well as leg-spinners Ravi Narine and Shawn Perreira, who is a Guyana Under-19 cricketer. Former Berbice cricketer Pestano is the only pacer in the side.

Bermine have a batting line-up that on a good day can give the RHTG&G bowlers problems. It will be spearheaded by two batsmen who have shown good form in recent matches- former national opening batsman Shemroy Barrington and Berbice one-day opening batsman Anthony D’Andrade.

They will be backed up by Berbice all-rounders Devon Clements and Romario Shepherd, as well as Joemal LaFleur, who was also in the Berbice one-day squad. Berbice Under-19 wicketkeeper/batsman Hakeem Hinds, as well as Keion DeJesus and Trinson Bynol and former Demerara all-rounder Damien Vantull will also lend support.

Shepherd, who opened the bowling for Berbice recently, Mark Jackman and possibly Orlando Tanner, will make up the pace attack. The spinners, who can do damage once they pitch the ball in the right areas, will be off-spinners Clements, LaFleur and Kevin Pellew, as well as left-arm spinner Vantull.

RHTG&G squad reads: Delbert Hicks (captain), Dominique Rikki, Jason Sinclair, Rajiv Ivan, Khemraj Mahadeo, Eon Hooper, Clinton Pestano, Ravi Narine, Shawn Perreira, Shailendra Shameer, Arif Chan, Devin Baldeo and Daniel Lewis. Hilbert Foster is the manager.

Bermine squad reads: Anthony D’Andrade (captain), Shemroy Barrington, Joemal LaFleur, Devon Clements, Romario Shepherd, Trinson Bynol, Hakeem Hinds, Keion DeJesus, Damien Vantull, Kevin Pellew, Mark Jackman, Orlando Tanner, Amir Seecharran and Daniel Thuesday.  The manager is Carl Moore.

Umpires Clement Brusch and Omadat Samaroo will preside over the match.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Sat, 10/12/2013 - 03:23