BCB releases revised list of activities for Golden Jubilee month of Celebration

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The Special Events and 75th Anniversary Committees of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) chaired by Mr. Hilbert Foster have released a revised schedule of activities for its Diamond Jubilee month of celebrations set for September.

The Award Presentation and Dinner has now been brought forward to Sunday August 31st rather than September 20. All Ex-Test players, national junior and senior players and Ex-Administrators are asked to take note of the change of date.

Sponsors of the Awards activity set for the St. Francis Training Centre from 18:00hrs are overseas based Guyanese Mr. Bobby Deonarine of Tenelec, Mr. Motie Phanisnaraine of Golden Arrow Sports Bar and Mr. Jameel Mohamed from City Bias Stitching Co.

The month of celebration would be launched with a Religious event on the evening of Saturday August 30 followed by two T20 matches on Sunday 31. The first match would include Under-19 players from 09:00hrs with the second from 12:00hrs featuring senior Berbice players.

List of activities from September 1 – 20

Panel Discussion on Berbice Cricket

Berbice Cricket Exhibition

Musical Evening

Live Television Programme

Inter Secondary school quiz competition

HIV/Aids March/Rally for junior cricketers

Tribute to Heroes programme

Donation of TV set to Children orphanage

Donation of 75 hampers to senior citizens

Essay competition on Berbice Cricket

Unveiling of Rohan Kanhai’s portrait

Launching of the Hall of Fame for administrators

Launching of 75th Anniversary Magazine

The BCB Test players list includes Rohan Kanhai, Basil Butcher, Joe Solomon, Alvin Kallicharran, Leonard Baichan, Sewdat Shivnarine, Clayton Lambert and Mahendra Nagamootoo.

Former players who represented Guyana and the West Indies at the ODI, ‘A’ Team, Under-19 and Female levels includes Sudesh and Sunil Dhaniram, Ray Joseph, Leslaine Lambert, Arjune Nandu, Kamal Singh, Suresh Ganouri, Milton Pydana, Candace Atkins, Vibert Benjamin, Tyrone and Romain Etwaroo, Armanauth Ramcharitar, Jerry Angus, Kevin Darlington, Karranchand Ramnarace, Deonarine Persaud, Hemnarine and Harrinarine Chattergoon, Andrew Gonsalves, Latchman Bhamsingh, David Fingal, Naeem Baksh, Fizul Sattaur,  among others. The list of Administrators includes Ancel Hazel, Lennox Phillips, Mortimer George, Sam Suchit, Prem Manbode, Oscar Ramjeet, Edward Bhagwandin among others.

Persons can contact Hilbert Foster on 337 4562 or email foster_hilbert@yahoo.com. Anil Beharry on 623 6875 or email abeharry1970@yahoo.com and Alisa Moonsee on 333 2375 for any additional details.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Mon, 04/21/2014 - 04:01