BCB to host historic Namilco/Bakewell 20/20 Tournament for 13 clubs

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The Berbice Cricket Board has obtained sponsorship for the biggest 20/20 cricket tournament that would be held in the ancient county for clubs.

The tournament would carry a winner’s cheque of $200,000, while $100,000 would go to the runner-up and $50,000 and $25,000 to the 3rd and 4th place teams respectively.

The teams that would be part of the tournament are West Berbice, Bath, D’Edward, Blairmont, Edinburgh, Police, Bermine, Young Warriors, Albion, Rose Hall Town Gizmos & Gadgets, Skeldon, Port Mourant and Upper Corentyne.

Chairman of the Berbice Cricket Board Competitions Committee Carl Moore explained that the tournament would be played on a knock-out basis with two matches being played at one venue each day starting at 09:30 hours and 13:30 hours respectively.

The tournament bowls off on Sunday 27th October, 2013 at three venues across the ancient county. Matches would be played at the Bush Lot ground in West Berbice, Cumberland in Canje and No. 69 Ground in Upper Corentyne.

Secretary of the Berbice Cricket Board Angela Haniff expressed the Board’s gratitude to the two sponsors of the tournament Namilco and Bakewell for their confidence in the Berbice Cricket Board and for investing in the developing of cricket in the ancient county.

The tournament would be used by the Berbice Cricket Board to promote the Say No to Drugs and Yes to Education message to all youths in Berbice as part of the Board’s social programme.

Managing Director of Namilco Mr. Bert Sukhai expressed confidence that the tournament would be a huge success as the Berbice Cricket Board has an excellent track record for organising successful tournaments. Namilco, he stated is pleased to invest in Berbice Cricket as it fully understand its corporate responsibilities to make positive differences.

Ansa McAl has also come on board as a sponsor and has bar rights at all the venues where matches would be played.

Chairman of the Berbice Cricket Board Competitions Committee Carl Moore disclosed that the tournament is expected to be of the highest standard with players like Assad Fudadin, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Foo, Keon Joseph, Brendon Bess, Eugene La Fleur, Gudakesh Motie, Devon Clement, Shemroy Barrington, Arthley Bailey and Delbert Hicks among others playing for their different clubs.

The fixtures for the opening rounds:

Bush Lot Ground (West Coast, Berbice)

09.30 hours – West Berbice vs D’Edward

13.30 hours – Police vs Bush Lot

No. 69 Ground:

09.30 hours – Upper Corentyne vs Edinburgh

13.30 hours – Rose Hall Town Gizmos & Gadgets vs Skeldon Community Centre

Cumberland Ground in Canje:

09.30 hours – Bermine vs Port Mourant Karibee Rice

13.30 hours – Young Warriors Universal DVD vs Blairmont Community Centre

Albion Community Centre “Bye”

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Tue, 10/22/2013 - 03:22