Barbados defeat T&T by 28 runs

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Barbados backed up their huge score in the field as they defeated hosts, Trinidad & Tobago, by 28 runs in both teams' opening match of the NAGICO Super50 tournament.

Jonathan Carter struck 109 and Dwayne Smith hit 83 as Barbados powered to 269/8 from their 50 overs against Trinidad and Tobago at the Queen's Park Oval.

Carter's knock came off just 111 balls, as he shared in a 103-run stand with Dwayne Smith. Carter struck nine fours and five sixes during his two-hour stay at the crease. Smith on the other hand hit ten fours and three sixes.

The T&T bowlers fought back near the end of the innings to restrict the Bajans. Rayad Emrit was T&T's best bowler, taking 4-51 in his nine overs.

T&T got off to a shaky start losing both openers within the first 25 runs. However, Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo combined in a 66-run partnership to steady T&T. Darren Bravo made 40 while Simmons made 37.

However, when both went, the T&T innings slowed once more. Denesh Ramdin's late onslaught of 48 runs failed to save T&T, as the hosts were bowled out for 241 inside their alotted 45 overs.

Barbados won the toss and elected to bat first against Trinidad & Tobago. After rain delayed the start of play, the match was rescheduled to start 3:45pm Local Time (2:25m Jamaica Time).

It was turned into a 45-over per side game with a bowler allowed to bowl a maximum of nine overs.

Trinidad & Tobago are without the services of Sunil Narine and they have opted to leave out Shannon Gabriel and Yannick Ottley.

Kirk Edwards have been withdrawn from the Barbados squad and they have left out Tino Best and Kenroy Williams.

More to follow...

See below for all the latest details of the match:

Toss: Barbados won the toss and elected to bat first.

Trinidad & Tobago XI: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Adrian Barath, Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Jason Mohammed, Denesh Ramdin (wicket-keeper), Rayad Emrit, Ravi Rampaul, Imran Khan, Kevon Cooper.

On The Bench: Sunil Narine, Yannick Ottley, Shannon Gabriel; Kelvin Williams (coach)

Barbados XI: Kevin Stoute (captain), Sulieman Benn, Rashidi Boucher, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Shane Dowrich (wicket-keeper), Fidel Edwards, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Dwayne Smith.

On The Bench: Tino Best, Kenroy Williams; Hendy Springer (coach)


Summary Scores:

Barbados Innings: 269/8 (50 Overs). Jonathan Carter 109, Dwayne Smith 83, Shane Dowrich 35, Rashidi Boucher 13; Rayad Emrit 9-0-51-4, Dwayne Bravo 8-1-31-1, Imran Khan 4-1-22-1, Kevon Cooper 9-0-56-1.

Trinidad & Tobago Innings: 241 All Out (43.3 Overs). Denesh Ramdin 48*, Darren Bravo 40, Lendl Simmons 37, Jason Mohammed 32; Suliemann Benn 9-1-31-4, Jason Holder 8-1-29-3, Dwayne Smith 2.3-0-14-1, Carlos Brathwaite 7-0-35-1.


Umpires: Lennox Abraham, Nigel Duguid

TV Umpire: Danesh Ramdhanie

4th Official: Anthony Sanowar

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath

Watch live on ESPN3 (Checking your local listings)

Listen to live ball-by-ball commentary (

Follow on Twitter (@WindiesRegional) & Facebook (Windies Cricket)

Catch all the action in photos (Flickr)



Kraigg Brathwaite b Dwayne Bravo 2

D Smith c Darren Bravo b Emrit 83

R Boucher LBW Khan 13

J Carter b Cooper 109

K Stoute b Emrit 0

S Dowrich c Mohammed b Emrit 35

Carlos Brathwaite not out 11

A Nurse c Rampaul b Emrit 0

J Holder c Rampaul b Emrit 0

Total: 269/8 (45 Overs)

Extras: (1NB, 6WD, 5LB) 12

Did not Bat: S Benn, F Edwards

Fall of Wickets: 1-26, 2-57, 3-160, 4-160, 5-251, 6-259, 7268-, 8-269.

Trinidad & Tobago Bowling: R Rampaul 9-0-65-0, Dwayne Bravo 8-1-31-1, K Cooper 9-0-56-1, L Simmons 6-0-39-0, I Khan 4-1-22-1, R Emrit 9-0-51-4.

Trinidad & Tobago (Target; 270)

A Barath c Boucher b Holder 10

E Lewis c Dowrich b Holder 13

Darren Bravo b Benn 40

L Simmons b Benn 37

Dwayne Bravo LBW Benn 17

J Mohammed c Boucher b Nurse 32

R Rampaul b Benn 3

D Ramdin not out 48

K Cooper b Carlos Brathwaite 2

I Khan b Smith 7

R Emrit run out Smith 6

Total: 241 All Out (43.3 Overs)

Extras: (3NB, 17WD, 6LB) 27

Fall of Wickets: 1-24, 2-25, 3-91, 4-113, 5-132, 6-144, 7-181, 8-184, 9-218, 10-.

Barbados Bowling: F Edwards 6-0-42-0, J Holder 8-1-29-3, Carlos Brathwaite 7-0-35-1, K Stoute 4-0-29-0, S Benn 9-1-31-4, A Nurse 7-0-46-0, D Smith 2.3-0-14-1.

Result: Barbados won by 28 runs

Man of the Match: Jonathan Carter (Barbados)

Umpires: Lennox Abraham, Nigel Duguid

TV Umpire: Danesh Ramdhanie

4th Official: Anthony Sanowar

Sun, 02/02/2014 - 08:51