Augustus (121) gives QPCC opening win

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Jonathan Augustus slammed an unbeaten 121 to lead the defending Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board Premier Division Sunday League champions Queen’s Park Cricket Club to a 140-run win over Munroe Road in their Group A opening match at Munroe Road Ground, Cunupia yesterday.

Augustus’ ton, which came off 76 balls and included ten fours and five sixes, led the Parkites to 273 for eight after they were sent in to bat. Left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein then snatched three for ten to help dismiss the newly promoted club Munroe Road to 133.

In other results in Group A, Merry Boys, led by Mario Belcon’s unbeaten 50, beat Caldrac Club by nine wickets at Gilbert Park in California while Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports defeated Esmeralda by 122 runs at Bamboo Recreation Ground with Yannic Cariah and Ryan Ramasray both scoring half centuries for Bamboo.

In Group B, CLICO Preysal fast bowler Philton Williams grabbed five for 32 to dismiss Alescon Comets for 183 before Presentation College Chaguanas batsman Kamil Pooran hit 78 to lead Preysal to a narrow one wicket win in their first game back in the Premier Division.

Elsewhere in Group B, PowerGen Sports defeated Moosai Sports by 16 runs in a rain affected match at Syne Village while league newcomers Jenexcon Tableland beat First Citizens Clarke Road by three wickets in another rain-affected encounter in Tableland.

Yesterday’s TTCB Premier Division Sunday League scores

Round 1

Group A

At Gilbert Park

Caldrac Club 73 (23.4 overs) (Ricky Jaipaul 4/17, Marlon Richards 3/14, Atiba Allert 1/10) vs Merry Boys 77-1 (9.4 overs) (Mario Belcon 50 n.o.)

—Merry Boys won by nine wickets

At Munroe Road

QPCC 273-8 (50 overs) (Jonathan Augustus 121 n.o., Sherwin Peters 31, Ken Hazel 24 n.o.) vs Munroe Road 133 (41 overs) (Kieron Joseph 43; Akeal Hosein 3/10, Amit Jaggernuath 2/35, Marlon Barclay 2/4)

—QPCC won by 140 runs

At Bamboo Recreation Ground

Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports 242-9 (50 overs) (Yannic Cariah 77, Ryan Ramasray 51) vs Esmeralda Sports 120 (37.3 overs) (Darren Deonairine 3/10, Lindel Nelson 3/23)

—Bamboo won by 122 runs

Group B

At Tableland

First Citizens Clarke Road 196-6 (50 overs) (Ranga Lachana 56, Ryan Ramdass 27, Adrian Ali 23, Sean Siloch 23; Daniel St Clair 2/26, Amir Khan 2/32) vs Jenexcon Tableland (Revised Target: 178 in 45 overs) 181-7 (32 overs) Kenton Thompson 48 n.o., Steven Taylor 46, William Perkins 31; Ranga Lachana 3/39, Mukesh Persad 2/42)

—Tableland won by three wickets

At Syne Village

PowerGen 126-5 (22 overs) (Akeil Cooper 44 n.o., Rajindra Chandrika 31, Sherwin Ganga 26; Vikash Mohan 2/10) vs Moosai Sports 110-9 (22 overs) (Adrian Cooper 20; Ansil Bhaggan 3/26, Sherwin Ganga 2/18)

—PowerGen won by 16 runs

At Inshan Ali Park

Alescon Comets 183 (48.2 overs) (Vishal Singh 44, Richard Kelly 41, Varendra Maharaj 22; Philton Williams 5/32) vs CLICO Preysal 184-9 (46.4 overs) (Kamil Pooran 78, Miguel Nedd 32, Philton Williams 24; Devendra Krishna 4/36, Marlon Bharath 3/27)

—Preysal won by one wicket

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Sat, 02/01/2014 - 19:17