ASJA win SSCL Championship Division

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - ASJA Boys College San Fernando won the PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) Championship Division on Monday after beating Barataria South Secondary by six wickets in a rescheduled round eight game at Green Arrow Ground in South Trinidad.

Barataria were dismissed for 120 and ASJA made 121 for four to overtake St Mary’s College for the top spot.

ASJA finished with 152 points, two ahead of St Mary’s. 

Both teams will be promoted to the Premier Division next season, replacing El Dorado East Secondary and Trinity College who will be demoted to the Championship.

ASJA have a bye in the first round of the Twenty20 InterCol knock-out which bowls off today.

And for the first time in the T20 InterCol competition, the first round will be played under lights starting at five p.m.

In the past, only the final was played under lights.

The only game that will be played during the day will be Iere High School versus Toco Secondary, which starts at 11 a.m. because of the distance the two teams have to travel to play each other.

In other games today, St Mary’s face Preysal Secondary at Munroe Road, Barataria square off against Cowen Hamilton Secondary at Avidesh Samaroo Park, and Shiva Boys Hindu College tackle Presentation College San Fernando at Evergreen Ground. 

Today’s T20 InterCol Fixtures

St Mary’s College vs Preysal 

Secondary, Munroe Road, 5 p.m.

Iere High School vs Toco Secondary, Honeymoon Park, 11 a.m.

Shiva Boys Hindu College vs         Presentation College San Fernando, Evergreen Ground, 5 p.m.

Barataria South Secondary vs Cowen Hamilton Secondary, Avidesh Samaroo Park, 5 p.m.

Premier Division Standings

Teams GP Pts

1. Vishnu Boys 9 124

2. Hillview College 9 119

3. Princes Town West 9 116

4. Barrackpore West 9 109

5. Pres Chaguanas 9  97

6. Carapichaima East 9  90

7. Naparima Boys 9  80

8. Fatima College 9  77

9. Trinity College East 9  63

10. El Dorado East 9  57

Championship Division Standings

Teams GP Pts

1. ASJA Boys 9 152

2. St Mary’s College 9 150

3. Iere High School 9 119

4. Shiva Boys 8 104

5. Barataria South 8 100

6. Cowen Hamilton 9  84

7. Pres San Fernando 9  67

8. Toco Secondary 9  66

9. Preysal Secondary 9  53

10. Union Claxton Bay 9    0

Note: The rescheduled Barataria vs Shiva Boys Round Nine match will be played on a date to be announced

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Wed, 03/19/2014 - 02:31