Antigua & Barbuda take Leewards title

Basseterre, St Kitts, CMC – Antigua and Barbuda captured their eighth Leewards Islands Cricket Association NAGICO Limited Overs title when they trounced in-form Nevis in the final at Warner Park.

Batting first after winning the toss, the visitors tallied 210 off 46.4 overs with Man-of-the-Match Austin Richards Jr stroking a top score of 69. In reply, Nevis’ formidable batting suffered an unfamiliar collapse as the hosts tumbled to a disappointing 138 all out off 35.3 overs, to lose by 72 runs.

Richards’s innings formed the basis of Antigua’s innings, as it required 78 balls and was laced with 12 boundaries. He got support from Mali Richards who stroked a patient unbeaten 38 from 84 balls while Hayden Walsh Jr lashed a cameo 32 from 29 balls with five fours and a six.

Left-arm spinner Jason Campbell claimed three for 30 while the Willet brothers, leg-spinner Akito (2-43) and seamer Tonito (2-48), snatched two wickets apiece.

In reply, Campbell top scored with a whirlwind 26 from 18 balls, striking two fours and two sixes, but Nevis’ main batsmen all failed leaving the run chase in jeopardy.

Javia Liburd, who got 23 from 31 balls with four fours, was the only batsmen to really get going as leg-spinner Walsh (2-2) and off-spinners Justin Athanaze (2-36) and Larry Joseph (2-46), destroyed the innings.

Mon, 10/10/2011 - 16:08