Amazing Guyana win last ball thriller

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, CMC – Guyana recorded a dramatic last-ball win over Combined Campuses and Colleges as the Caribbean T20 came to life on Monday night at Queen’s Park Oval.

 With 14 runs required from the last six balls of the game, CCC squandered a golden opportunity for full points as pacer Jason Holder sent down a wide, a no-ball and was then smashed for a huge six by Veersammy Permaul off the penultimate delivery, to leave the scores tied.

Permaul and Devendra Bishoo then held their nerve in tense circumstances, scrambling a leg bye off the final delivery to lift Guyana to 160 for eight, and spark celebrations in the Guyanese camp.

Earlier, Chadwick Walton blasted a superb unbeaten 99 to steer CCC to 159 for three from their 20 overs, after they were sent on a pitch which flatterned out in the feature game of the doubleheader.



C Walton not out 99

R Reifer c Foo b Bishoo 21

*K Corbin run out 25

F Reifer c Chanderpaul b Beaton 2

R Wiggins not out 3

Extras (lb3, w6) 9

TOTAL (3 wkts; 20 overs) 159

Did not bat: J Holder, A Dewar, K McClean, K Williams, W Morgan, R Austin.

Fall of wickets: 1-50 (R Reifer, 6.1 overs), 2-108 (Corbin, 16.3), 3-111 (F Reifer, 17.2)

Bowling: Crandon 4-0-28-0, Beaton 3-0-26-1 (w2), Permaul 4-0-56-0 (w1), Bishoo 4-0-23-1, Barnwell 3-0-11-0 (w1), Deonarine 2-0-12-0 (w1).


T Griffith c F Reifer b Holder 9

S Chanderpaul c wk Walton b Holder 38

R Sarwan run out 8

N Deonarine c wk Walton b R Reifer 57

C Barnwell c Holder b McClean 7

R Crandon c Dewar b R Reifer 10

J Foo c Wiggins b R Reifer 5

+D Christian c Austin b R Reifer 0

*V Permaul not out 9

D Bishoo not out 3

Extras (lb3, w8, nb3) 14

TOTAL (8 wkts; 20 overs) 160

Did not bat: R Beaton.

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Griffith, 2.2 overs), 2-29 (Sarwan, 4.1), 3-91 (Chanderpaul, 11.2), 4-103 (Barnwell, 13.2), 5-136 (Deonarine, 17), 6-141 (Crandon, 18.1), 7-141 (Christian, 18.2), 8-144 (Foo, 18.5)

Result: Guyana won by two wickets.

Points: Guyana 4, CCC 0.

Man-of-the-Match: Chadwick Walton.

Toss: Guyana.

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Peter Nero; TV – Joel Wilson.

Mon, 01/07/2013 - 20:54