Aguilleira returns for Grand Final

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados – Winning the Women’s T20 International Tri Series trophy on Saturday night would mean a lot to the West Indies team.

Skipper Merissa Aguilleira said it would be the perfect icing on the cake after what has been a hard-fought two-week event. West Indies face England in the decider at Kensington Oval at 7 pm (6 pm Jamaica Time).

“Winning means a lot to us and to win any tournament is a big win this tournament at home would be a huge thing for us as a team,” the longstanding wicket-keeper said. “The main thing is to be consistent. With the energy we have we should go all the way."

"We have played some good cricket throughout this tournament and we want to see it end with a victory. We want to make winning a habit. The team is progressing really well and we have conquered our obstacles.”

She missed the last preliminary round match against England, which the West Indies won in the Super Over, but confirmed she will return to do the glovework in the Grand Final on Saturday night.

Since their re-introduction into West Indies are the most improved team in world cricket but are yet to win a major international title. They reached the semi-finals of the 2010 and 2012 ICC World T20s.

They placed second at the ICC World Cup in India earlier this year. Back in 2011 they played unbeaten to win the ICC World Cup qualification tournament in Bangladesh.

“We are making steps forward and I’m pleased with the progress,” Aguilleira added. “We beat New Zealand in the three ODIs earlier this month and this final will be a chance to win another event and boost our confidence as well.”


WEST INDIES: Merissa Aguilleira (Captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Chinelle Henry, Stacy Ann King, Kyshona Knight, Anisa Mohammed, Juliana Nero, Shaquana Quintyne, Tremayne Smartt, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor

ENGLAND: Charlotte Edwards (Captain), Tasmin Beaumont, Holly Colvin, Kate Cross, Natasha Farrant, Lydia Greenaway, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Beth Langston, Natalie Sciver, Sarah Taylor, Laura Winfield, Danielle Wyatt

Umpires: Peter Nero, Joel Wilson

Television umpire: Gregory Brathwaite

Fourth official: Jonathan Blades

Match manager: Mervyn Jones

Sat, 10/26/2013 - 11:42